Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tygers of Pan Tang: Bloodlines

New Wave of British Heavy Metal pioneers Tygers of Pan Tang are back with their thirteenth album, titled Bloodlines, and as we've seen with their output over the last decade, the band are in the midst of a real highpoint in their career. Founding member and guitarist Robb Weir still runs the show, and he's got alongside him drummer Craig Ellis, vocalist Jacopo 'Jack' Meille, (both of whom have been in the band for many years) and new guys, guitarist Francesco Marras & bassist Huw Holding. As we've noted on their last few album, Meille was a real catch, and he's now got a handful of albums under his belt to strut his stuff, which he does once again here on Bloodlines. This is muscular, guitar driven heavy rock, thick on crunchy riffs, blazing lead guitar work, memorable choruses, and Meille's outstanding vocals. "Fire on the Horizon" blends Van Halen styled guitar acrobatics with Whitesnake swagger, and fist pumping anthems such as "Edge of the World", "In My Blood", "Light of Hope", "Kiss the Sky", and "Making All the Rules" check all the boxes for those that just want quality heavy music. The production of the album is top notch, with all the instruments crystal clear in the mix, the guitars with the right amount of crunch, the drums dynamic, and the vocals soaring over the top. It's not all rip snorting rockers though, as the band even throw in a memorable ballad in the form of "Taste of Love" as well as a straight forward accessible rocker in "Believe", which could have come off a mid '80s Billy Squire or Def Leppard album.

Along with other second tier NWOBHM veterans like Saxon, Satan, Praying Mantis, Diamond Head, Tank, and Angel Witch, Tygers of Pan Tang are releasing some of their strongest album in more recent years, and it's great to see the old guard still out there kicking ass. Don't miss this one folks!

Track Listing
1. Edge Of The World 05:10
2. In My Blood 04:23
3. Fire On The Horizon 03:25
4. Light Of Hope 03:49
5. Back For Good 05:05
6. Taste Of Love 04:17
7. Kiss The Sky 03:55
8. Believe 05:19
9. A New Heartbeat 04:08
10. Making All The Rules 04:27

Added: October 15th 2023
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 574
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by