Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Cherokee: Blood & Gold

Forming in 2014 and hailing from Cologne, Germany, Cherokee released a four track EP Wakan Tanka Nici Un in 2018, followed by their 2021 debut titled Blood & Gold.

Now, you might think a German band called Cherokee doesn’t quite add up but just listen to what the band has to offer with Blood & Gold and you just might change your tune. The band’s music is fully informed by ‘70s classic hard rock with a nod to heavy blues.

The album opening “Bill Pullman” is an up-tempo hard rocker with soulful lead vocals and hooks a plenty. The guitar riffs and smoky leads have that retro vibe that just feels good. “My Sweet Tulip” is a bluesy rocker with Laura Vesprini’s sultry lead vocals and Alexander Kleusch’s melodic guitar work all over the place. This will stick in your head like bees to honey. With “Just One Summer Long” the sound is smoother and more relaxed with fine bass courtesy of Fabian Dey and on “Il Grande Silenzio” the band does their take on country and western with a moodier edge and more outstanding guitar work from Kleusch. The band is back to rocking hard on “Ride by Night” with its galloping groove not unlike something Iron Maiden might come up with. The twin guitar attack in “Signourney” reminded me a little of Thin Lizzy, another smoking rocker with a softer section of pure beauty.

With fifteen tracks and over seventy minutes of music there is a lot here to absorb. Fear not though, with so many hooks coupled with great playing, Blood & Gold is an album that is hard to put down. In a word, excellent!

A Dying Victims Productions’ release.

The players:
Laura Vesprini (vocals)
Fabian Albert Dey (bass)
Alexander Beda Maria Kleusch (guitar)
Fabian Kampa (drums)
Simon Siantidis (guitar)

Track Listing:
1. Bill Pullman
2. My Sweet Tulip
3. Just One Summer Long
4. Il Grande Silenzio
5. Ride by Night
6. Signourney
7. Song for R.G.
8. The Nightingale and the Red Rose
9. Rite of Peyote
10. Malinche
11. Mother Nature’s Child
12. Ridin’ Free
13. To Destroy Life
14. Following My Blues
15. Warriors of the Rainbow

Added: September 9th 2023
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 414
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by