Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Giant Sky: Giant Sky

Here is a band I needed to get to before now. I am still processing this stuff even after a few spins. The band is Giant Sky, hailing from Oslo, Norway and this is their self titled debut, released on June 4, 2021.

This is progressive music, enhanced with an abundance of electronics melded with more organic sounding instruments like flute and violin. It is both sweeping and majestic, sometimes symphonic, other times much more serene and sparse. Perhaps most importantly, the vocals, both male and female, are outstanding.

The disc is composed of seven tracks, totalling forty-seven minutes, and starting with the twelve-minute, six-part epic “The Further We Go The Deeper It Gets”. Beginning with a quiet calm, spacey textures, and serene dreaminess, the song unfolds with elements of ‘60s psych, modern electronic, and mellow symphonic rock. There is a beautiful flow here, very intoxicating, including some nice guitar and keyboard work. With “Broken Stone” the first half is soft and pastoral, the vocals and guitar slightly fragile, the music sparse until the full band erupts, the drums taking on more prominence and the vocals highly emotional. A kind of space rock/old school prog hybrid of sorts with a little indie thrown in for good measure. The short “Interlude” is a classical based piece with flute and piano while “No Cancelling This” is punctuated with dramatic vocals, flute, and electronics, shrouded within a spacey pop sensibility that will endear itself to many listeners. The celestial and atmospheric synth driven “The Further We Go The Deeper It Gets (pt. 7)” is superbly crafted and the last track “Breaking Patterns” ends the disc with a deep guitar groove, pulsing keys, and swirling synths - a definite nod to space rock.

Giant Sky has made a fantastic indie prog album that will appeal to a wide cross section of listeners, I for one cannot get enough!

A Glassville Records release.

Track Listing:
1. The Further We Go the Deeper It Gets (pt. 1-6) (12:04)
2. Broken Stone (9:45)
3. Interlude (I Don’t Know What You Think Of Me But It’s Wrong) (1:31)
4. No Cancelling This (5:47)
5. Out Of Swords (8:42)
6. The Further We Go The Deeper It Gets (pt. 7) (2:54)
7. Breaking Patterns (7:55)

Added: August 29th 2023
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 397
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by