Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Belling The Tiger: Creeds are Dust When Your Mother Dies

After their 2021 studio debut Lost, Detroit’s melodic progressive rock band Belling the Tiger returns with a new 3-song EP called Creeds are Dust When Your Mother Dies … a mouthful title for such a short musical output. The band is comprised of Michael Allan Moore on guitars and keyboards (House of Usher, Tin Scribble), Danny Grimm on vocals (Mob Opera), Duane Harvey on drums and percussion, Andrew Harvey on bass (Gossamer, An Angel Submerged), and Ani Balalau on backing vocals and additional keys.

A very cool and melodic instrumental interplay between keys and guitars is the highlight of the opener song “A Noon Day Frenzy”, leading the way before the unique vocalization by Grimm arrives and takes over… the instrumentation is of high quality, and the presence of the haunting and melodic backing vocals, as well as the solid guitar solo by Moore, enhances a song that otherwise wouldn’t be as good. “Human Vessel” takes me straight to early Hogarth’s Marillion… beware, it is not a rip-off, but it would be a mistake not to see and hear the similarities, both in the music and the vocal style… it sounds more metallic than the legendary neo-proggers, and somehow less organized, however it is catchy and quite memorable, resulting in a song that I come back to listen again and again… perhaps I’m craving for some “The King of Sunset Town”?... perhaps, maybe… still a good song though.

“A Place in the Sun” closes the 20 plus minutes EP, and I strongly believe is the best piece of music on the EP. I like Grimm vocals when the band has that Marillion feel, but otherwise I find them a little overwhelming, not in a bad sense, but the way they’re mixed into the music distract me from fully enjoying and embracing the outstanding playing that is happening behind them… and thanks to another great guitar solo I can finally appreciate the tight rhythmic section by the Harveys.

There are two versions for that last song, the second one is about one minute shorter and has some backing vocals by Ani, both versions are equally good. I don’t necessarily love this EP, I do like it and did enjoy listening and writing a review for it, enough to make me want to go and check their Lost debut album. Cheers!

Track list:
1. A Noon Day Frenzy (6:56)
2. Human Vessel (6:25)
3. A Place in the Sun (7:49)

Added: July 21st 2023
Reviewer: Jose Antonio Marmol
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 534
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by