Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

In Flames: Foregone

Gothenburg's legendary metal heroes In Flames are back with their 14th studio platter for Nuclear Blast Records, titled Foregone, and with it comes new guitarist Chris Broderick, formerly of Jag Panzer, Nevermore, and Megadeth. After a string of disappointing albums (some may say that the band have been on a downward spiral for twenty years!), can the band, along with their new guitar ace, get back to what made them such a beloved band to begin with?

Well, yes and no. The Swedes certainly have delivered their most enjoyable platter of melodic death metal/thrash since 2004's Soundtrack to Your Escape, but before you get all excited, let's be clear, Clayman, Colony, Whoracle, or The Jester Race this is not. Instead, Foregone embraces some of the more melodic, metalcore elements that the band have adopted since the start of the 2000's but have also thrown back in some of the brutality and guitar shredding nature of those earlier classics. Broderick and Björn Gelotte prove to be formidable duo together, as there are plenty of thrashy riffs and blazing solos throughout the album, as on "Meet Your Maker", "State of Slow Decay", and the ferocious two-part title track, which might be the strongest moments on Foregone. And, how about those gorgeous acoustic guitar tones on the opener "The Beginning of All Things That Will End"? Incredible. As for what doesn't work, there are still enough glimpses of what appears to be the band desperately trying to appeal to the younger US metal fan with tracks like "Bleeding Out", "The Great Deceiver", and "In the Dark", complete with saccharine sweet clean vocals from Anders Fridén. I don't mind clean vocals in extreme music, and Anders has a great melodic side to his voice, but it just always sounds forced on some of these more recent In Flames albums. "A Dialogue in B Flat Minor" and "Cynosure" both just scream for a band desperate for the attention of the masses and wanting to appeal to anyone but their loyal fans from their early days. Can't say I fault them for wanting more success, but the days of metalcore being anything more than a the latest flavor or the month form of metal is long gone. His harsh vocals however are in top form, especially on the first half of the album, which is the more brutal half of Foregone.

Overall, plenty to like here for those who have had a hard time getting through the last handful of In Flames albums, but that comes with somewhat of a warning; having had this album for a number of months, my initial excitement of 'In Flames are back baby!' has been tempered with many repeated listens. Rather than a 'return to form', Foregone is a middle of the road 'good' album, with a handful of tracks that sees the band kicking into high gear, and another handful treading destinations that most of us longtime fans wish they would stop visiting.

Anders Fridén- lead vocals
Björn Gelotte-lead guitar
Chris Broderick-Lead & rhythm guitar
Bryce Paul-bass, backing vocals
Tanner Wayne-drums

Track Listing
1. "The Beginning of All Things That Will End" (instrumental) 2:13
2. "State of Slow Decay" 3:58
3. "Meet Your Maker" 3:57
4. "Bleeding Out" 4:01
5. "Foregone, Pt. 1" 3:24
6. "Foregone, Pt. 2" 4:30
7. "Pure Light of Mind" 4:26
8. "The Great Deceiver" 3:45
9. "In the Dark" 4:17
10. "A Dialogue in B Flat Minor" 4:28
11. "Cynosure" 4:05
12. "End the Transmission" 3:42
Total length: 46:46

Added: June 3rd 2023
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 518
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by