Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Poco: One Night in Nashville

Poco might not be the first band you think of when you navigate to Sea of Tranquility. But if you love your music with rich melodies, sweet harmonies and a laid-back vibe that transcends genre, listen to Poco.

Pioneers of the Southern California country rock sound, Poco also boasts three members in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, albeit representing other bands (Buffalo Springfield and the Eagles). In 2004, Poco performed in Nashville with three original members and two longtime members to record Keeping the Legend Alive, a CD/DVD set released in 2006. That performance was reissued on CD and vinyl in 2021 under the title One Night in Nashville by Purple Pyramid Records and showcases the band’s deep catalog while still covering the hits: “Crazy Love,” “Call It Love,” “A Good Feelin’ To Know,” “Rose of Cimarron,” “Heart of the Night.”

Poco doesn’t sound like a band beyond its years here, even though its history dates back to 1968. And the presence of original members Rusty Young, Richie Furay and George Grantham, along with Poco veterans Paul Cotton and Jack Sundrud, add authenticity to make this a solid late-career gig.

Poco would go on to record one more album (2013’s All Fired Up) and tour. But the 2021 death of Young -- the only member to have played on every Poco album -- at age 75 marked the end of the band. Cotton passed away in 2021, too, at 78.

The biggest complaint about this set is that it has been retitled and repackaged to appear as a new release -- not as a record previously released with a different name and cover. That’s potentially confusing to fans, and it’s a shame. Poco deserves better.

Track Listing:
1. Where Did the Time Go
2. Keep On Tryin’
3. Crazy Love
4. Pickin’ Up the Pieces
5. Bad Weather
6. Call It Love
7. Let’s Dance
8. Magnolia
9. You Better Think Twice
10. Spellbound
11. Indian Summer
12. Kind Woman
13. Rose of Cimarron
14. Ride the Country
15. Good Feelin’ To Know
16. Heart of the Night

Added: May 17th 2023
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Poco Website
Hits: 568
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by