Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Allman Brothers Band, The: Down In Texas ‘71

Here is an American classic. The Allman Brothers Band formed in 1969 in Jacksonville, Florida. They forged the classic southern rock sound, incorporating elements of jazz, blues, and country. This particular album titled Down In Texas ‘71 showcases the band at their peak, performing live at the Austin Municipal Auditorium on Sept. 28, 1971. Before this performance the band had previously released one of the best live albums in rock history, At Fillmore East. It is safe to say the band was at their creative and performing peak and what makes this an even more important musical document is the tragic passing of Duane Allman just over a month later on Oct. 29, 1971.

The concert kicks off with the blistering “Statesboro Blues” where honky tonk piano meets Allman’s fantastic slide guitar and Betts’ searing leads. The classic riff of “Trouble No More” is engrained in musical history and brought home with Gregg’s incredibly soulful vocals. More great vocals and slide guitar can be heard on “Don’t Keep Me Wonderin” and is followed by the Elmore James penned “Done Somebody wrong” and “One Way Out”, both also featured on At Fillmore East. Both tunes exhibit The Allman Bothers’ love for the blues, expressed so eloquently in Gregg’s lead vocals and Duane’s slide guitar. On “One Way Out”, the dueling guitarists (Duane and Betts) will put a smile on your face. For the band’s legendary jams listen to the proggy “In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed” and “You Don’t Love Me”, absolutely stunning.

If I was to harp on the negatives it would be the mediocre recording quality. The sax work of Juicy Carter is almost lost here and the occasional drop in sound paints a rather incomplete picture of the evening. That said, it doesn’t take away from the incredible performance of the band and I think fans of classic rock will want this in their collection.

The end of the disc features an interview of Berry Oakley and Duane Allman for KPFT Radio in Houston.

*Proceeds from the sale of this disc go to The Allman Brothers Band Museum ‘The Big House’ located in Macon, Georgia.

Track Listing:
1. Statesboro Blues (5:01)
2. Trouble No More (4:43)
3. Don’t Keep me Wonderin’ (4:03)
4. Done Somebody Wrong (3:36)
5. One Way Out (5:26)
6. In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed (incomplete) (6:09)
7. Stormy Monday (9:03)
8. You Don’t Love Me (15:11)
9. Hot ‘Lanta (7:40)
10. Berry Oakley and Duane Allman 06/06/71 Houston TX interview (13:04)

Added: April 16th 2023
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 543
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by