Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Jail Job Eve: Wildfire

Heavy retro rockers Jail Job Eve hail from Germany and been around for about twenty years now, although I am listening to them for the first time. Their first album The Mission was released in 2018 and is followed by their sophomore effort Wildfire. In the band are:

Victoria Semel (vocals)
Benedikt Schlereth (guitar)
Jens Niemann (organ)
Tim Beckers (bass)
Josef Röhner (drums)
Guest musician:
Henning Oppermann (percussion)

The band play a brand of bluesy heavy rock, informed by ‘70s bands like Deep Purple and Zeppelin along similar lines of Blues Pills and Rival Sons. The musicianship is excellent, great riffs abound along with substantial use of organ and Semel’s lead vocals are outstanding.

The band leave no doubt their position regarding climate change and the state of planet Earth with the front cover depicting the decadence of ‘New Florida’, located on the moon, with the Earth exploding in the background. Not quite like the famous ‘Earthrise’ picture taken on the Apollo 8 Mission in 1968.

The lead off track “Down The Rabbit Hole” pulsates with cool keyboards, hinting of new wave, rumbling bass and guitar, filled to the top with hard rock swagger. And those vocals, man, does Semel have a great voice. With “Mid-Flight” the muted guitar riffs bring a little funk to the band’s ripping hard rock. “Hit Me With A Lightning” is a catchy bluesy flavoured rocker where Semel lays down some Joplin inspired chops and the organ and guitar riffs simmer with intensity. The title track is probably my favourite with its hard rock flavours and doom-laden soundscape, all brought together with huge organ and guitar riffs. Again, the vocals deliver big time. Howling organ and catchy hard rock guitar riffs highlight the rousing “Lost” and with the bluesey rock and roll of “Flying V”, the band effectively transports the listener to the glory days of hard rock.

Wildfire is absolutely a must have for fans of heavy rock. Please put this on your playlist as soon as possible. Highly recommended!

A M.I.G.-music release.

Track Listing:
1. Down The Rabbit Hole
2. Mid-Flight
3. Hit Me With A Lightning
4. Wildfire
5. Lost
6. Flying V
7. Keep It Quiet
8. No Means No
9. Neither Man Nor machine
10. Riot

Added: March 15th 2023
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 580
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by