Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ben Jackson Group: All Over You

Making music as if the Nineties never happened, former Crimson Glory guitarist Ben Jackson returns with a four-man band he named after himself. All Over You is a proud, in-your-face hard-rock record with plenty of attitude, chops and hooks. Jackson practically dares you not to pull out that rusty air guitar and put a shameless grin on your face during such solid rockers as the memorable opener "Turn It On," the down 'n' dirty "Break It," the anthem "Rock 'N' Roll Heaven" and the Ratt-meets-Giant title track. Then, at the album's midway point, All Over You takes a surprising turn for the dark side, with "Ghost in the Mirror" and "Eyes of Ice," which both sorta sound like Trash-era Alice Cooper. Some fans may hear similarities between All Over You and Crimson Glory's glory days, while others wouldn't be out of line drawing comparisons between hearing this album for the first time and discovering one of those unheard hard-rock gems from a bygone era in a used-CD store.

Jackson takes a crack at lead vocals, and he sings in a mighty voice with just a hint of sleaze, with ample backing by former Crimson Glory frontman Midnight (who also recently released a solo album) and Rose Sexton. Crimson Glory bassist Dino Binz played on All Over You but left the group prior to the album's release. New bassist Fabrizio Fulco moved all the way from Italy to Florida to replace Binz. That's how good the Ben Jackson Group is.

Jackson is convincing as both a front man and a songwriter, and when he soars into the verse on "Far and Away," you can't help but believe the guy and wish him well on his latest musical journey: "When my life takes me far and away/Around the world just to sing my song/I'll awake to a red-burning sunrise/And I want you to come along."

File this one under surprise of the year

Track Listing:
1) Turn It On
2) Mean Machine
3) All Over You
4) Falling Down
5) Ghost In The Mirror
6) Eyes Of Ice
7) Far And Away
8) Heavy On My Mind
9) Break It
10) Rock 'N' Roll Heaven

Added: May 30th 2005
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Ben Jackson Web Site
Hits: 2903
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by