Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Cosmic Ocean: Through The Farthest Space

Cosmic Ocean started its existence as Out Of Time which formed around 2013. The band released an early demo titled Premeditated Attempted Manslaughter With Intent To Kill in 2015. As the years passed and the pandemic hit, they changed their name to Cosmic Ocean with the following lineup:

Mark De La O (drums, percussion, orchestral bass drum)
Steven Elias (electric guitars, lead and backing vocals)
Aaron Miller (electric and slide guitars, chimes, vibraphone, backing vocals)
Dino Rodino (electric and acoustic bass, percussion, pennywhistle, backing vocals)
Emily Solis (lead and backing vocals)
Michael Whelan (electric and acoustic guitars, mandolin, piano, keyboards, bass, sitar, programming, backing vocals)

In 2022 the band released their debut full length titled Through The Farthest Space.

The band play a melodic from of heavy pop, rock, and progressive metal, some may refer to this as prog metal lite, but I digress. The key to Through The Farthest Space are the delicious melodies found throughout the disc. Solis’ lead vocals come from a pop angle, perhaps giving the music that extra melodic flair. The first tune “Shadows In The moonlight” is a perfect example of the band ‘s ability to combine technical prowess with melodic sensibilities. The guitar riffs and keyboards had me easily hooked, effectively setting up the album for what is to come. Heavy riffs to lighter moments, including neoclassical-like guitar and fine keyboards, before ending the song with a lovely piano melody. The nylon string rhythms, honkytonk piano, catchy chorus, and up-tempo pace would make “Outlaw” a fine stadium rocker, while “Rainbows At Night” has a pop-like sheen amidst its hefty guitar riffs. The atmospheric guitar and lush backing vocals in the melodic rock of “Faceless Dreams” and the fast paced “Cobra Maneuver”, venturing into heavier rock, feature more than enough ear candy to keep any fan of melodic rock happy for days.

And that’s the way it goes for the rest of the tracks, catchy, rocking, and just a good time had by all. Cosmic Ocean is a fine new band, making melodic rock music loaded with hooks and featuring excellent musicianship. Another solid recommendation.

Track Listing:
1. Shadows In the Moonlight
2. Outlaw
3. Rainbows At Night
4. Faceless Dreams
5. Cobra Maneuver
6. The Road
7. Nordic Summer
8. The Bee’s Knees
9. Wrong Turn
10. Sunrise
11. Kingdom Of Fear

Added: March 4th 2023
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 345
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by