Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Reternity: Cosmic Dreams

Reternity is heavy rock/metal band from Germany and formed in 2018. Cosmic Dreams (2022) is already the band’s third release. The cover art and album title caught my attention almost immediately, really quite striking and screams of a sci-fi story line, a genre I have always gravitated towards.

So, this was certainly a curiosity and upon first listen and I was not disappointed. It is heavy with mellower introspective moods, cool effects, great riffs, solid lead vocals, and creative arrangements. The first track “Building Better Worlds” is a dense melodic rocker with tasty keyboards and big chunky riffs. The lyrics convey the sci-fi dystopian concept. It is a nice mixture of proggy musicianship and catchy AOR melodicism. “Untamed Hearts” has an airy arrangement, the vocals slightly more intense, and cool segue ways into mellower constructs. There is tasty guitar work throughout, including a sweet acoustic ending. A dark thread weaves through the excellent “Depths Of Nothingness”, the band’s tight musicianship on full display. The title track features a catchy vocal melody against walls of heavy guitars and fast paced drums before a change up into a mellow section led by Stefan Zörner’s expressive lead vocals. The short “Astronaut”, is a more serene, piano led track. The dreamy soundscape is complemented by cool vocal effects. “Blitzwerfer Blues” shows the band’s heavy progressive side blended with an ultra catchy lead vocal. The band’s creativity is quite captivating here. The organ coursing through the enchanting “Seemingly” is another album high point.

Band members:
Stefan Zörner (vocals, keys)
Carsten Sauter (lead and rhythm guitars)
Oskar Schmidt (rhythm guitars)
Duste Decay (bass)
Conner Nelson (drums)

Facing The Demon (2019)
A Test Of Shadows (2020)
Cosmic Dreams (2022)

Track Listing:
1. Building Better Worlds
2. Untamed Hearts
3. Depths Of Nothingness
4. Cosmic Dreams
5. Astronaut
6. Blitzwerfer Blues
7. Seemingly
8. Only Scars Remain
9. Wonderful Life
10. The Narrow Sleep
11. My Reternity

Added: February 12th 2023
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 540
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by