Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Taliesin: Faceless

Taliesin hail from Canberra, Australia and formed in the mid ‘90s. The progressive metal band released a debut EP in 2006 titled The Tally Of Lies And Sin. After that the band experienced members leaving and rejoining, you know in life stuff happens, and the band sort of disappeared for a few years, at least that is what I can gather. In 2014, after their current lineup was cemented, the band started to work on their first full length album. Eight years later, Faceless was released in April 2022.

This is a concept album examining the condition of Prosopagnosia or face blindness, the inability to recognize faces. The neurological condition varies in severity as some individuals may not be able to discern faces from objects, or not even able to recognize their own face. In the story, the main character is a serial killer who blames his actions on his disorder. As you might imagine, the album delves into some dark corners so prepare yourself for a journey into the mysteriousness of the human mind and all the darkness contained therein. Certainly, an interesting concept for a heavy prog rock album.

The album kicks off with the outstanding “Awakened By Darkness”, a journey through jackhammer riffage, velvety smooth lead vocals, and a tasty blend of mellowness to offset the blistering pace. “Climbing” follows suit, and folks, it is an absolute stunner. The drum sets a great groove, and the vocals soar with feeling and passion and when the music goes down a mellower path, the guitars and keys swirl with just a hint of trippiness. The thoughtful lead guitar solo is an album highlight. “Faceless Women” has the band showcasing their musicianship, playing through odd-metered changes with ease, creating a very smooth sound. The catchy progressive metal of “The Wilderness” had me thinking of fellow countrymen Voyager, the riffs are again a highlight package, contrasting with the balladic “Reflection” with its tasty vocal arrangement and gentler approach.

Memorable and exquisitely played, Taliesin have hit a home run with Faceless. A smart conceptual piece of near brilliance. Highly recommended!

Band members:
Wayne Bateup (drums)
Reuben Durham (guitar, keyboards, vocals)
Dave Howe (lead vocals)
Richard Moseley (guitar, keyboards, vocals)
Chris Turk (bass, vocals)
Additional musicians:
Henning Pauly (keys on “The Widower’s Daughter”)
Julie Reynolds (vocals on “Faceless Women” and “The Widower’s Daughter”)

Track Listing:
1. Awakened By Darkness (5:02)
2. Climbing (5:30)
3. Faceless Women (4:25)
4. The Wilderness (4:02)
5. Reflection (4:09)
6. Not Coming Home (4:54)
7. My Sleeping Prize (5:08)
8. Turbulence (4:13)
9. Truth Of The Hunter (3:34)
10. The Widower’s Daughter (7:11)

Added: February 11th 2023
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 529
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by