Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Steve Gadd / Eddie Gomez / Ronnie Cuber: Center Stage-WDR Big Band

Blends of covers from Stevie Wonder to Bob Dylan to Otis Redding (and many more) make up the bulk of this disc from these 3 renowned musicians. Joined by the WDR big band, you get that powerful punch from the horns, and tasty grooves from Gadd and Gomez. Cuber (who sadly passed in October 2022) leaves his mark taking some tasty solos throughout the 9 tracks. The playing and sound quality is excellent, but the disc is ultimately underwhelming. Honestly, it is difficult to get into the covers, and it feels a bit safe. My favorite tracks are the two Gadd originals “Lucky 13” and the closing “My Little Brother”. Had this collection consisted of mostly originals and a select cover or two, it would be much more enjoyable.

Track List:

  1. Signed, Sealed, Delivered
  2. Watching The River Flow
  3. I Can’t Turn You Loose
  4. Che Ore So
  5. Them Changes
  6. Way Back Home
  7. Lucky 13
  8. Honky Tonk / I Can’t Stop Loving You
  9. My Little Brother

Added: January 23rd 2023
Reviewer: Eric Porter
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 368
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by