Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Campbell, Neil: Alive In Prohibition

Rounding out what was a jam-packed end to 2022, acoustic guitarist and composer Neil Campbell completed a trio of releases with this live CD, Alive In Prohibition, an album recorded in May 2022 at the Prohibition Studios in Neil’s home city of Liverpool in front of what sounds like a selected audience.

Crammed to the brim with 26 tracks, what this album allows for is Campbell to truly run the gamut of his solo acoustic guitar skills, with mood, tone and atmosphere always the driving forces behind his dextrous but seldom flashy style. It makes for an enigmatic journey, with the lengthy opening pair of “In And Out Of Day Out and Into Night” and “Through The Looking Glass Part One” wonderful introductions to what is a hugely engaging experience. Campbell’s broad approach often feeling like more than one guitarist interpreting these pieces, so full is the sound and impressive the attack. These are themes throughout but interspersed with different moods the likes of “Terra Firma” is safe ground indeed, while the three selection from the wonderful Tabula Rasa Suite offer more introspective moments for us to contemplate and become lost in.

The show is often blocked into themes and eras, allowing an organic growth as you experience the evening in question, The Private Collection section followed by the aforementioned Tabula Rasa movements. This then slides into the Ghost part of the night, “Ghost Story 2”, “Ghost Tango”, “Ghost Stories Sketch 2” and “Ghost Stories Sketch 1” offering the beautiful moods their names suggest and so much more.

For existing fans, this overview of Neil Campbell’s musical career is really quite breathtaking, with the reminders of the breadth and scope of what he has achieved welcome indeed. If you’ve never experienced the man’s magnificent guitar skills before, then I’d suggest this is the perfect place to begin what is sure to be a lengthy and rewarding journey.

Track Listing
1. In and Out of Day Out and Into Night 2. Through the Looking Glass Part One 3. Night Sketch 13 4. Through the Looking Glass Part Four 5. Night Sketch 11 6. Through the Looking Glass Part Two 7. Terra Firma 8. Private Collection 1 9. Private Collection 2 10. Private Collection 4 11. Erik's Song 12. Dance to the End of Love 13. Tabula Rasa Suite Part 1 14. Tabula Rasa Suite Part 2 15. Tabula Rasa Suite Part 5 16. There, Again 17. Ghost Story 2 18. Ghost Tango 19. Ghost Stories Sketch 2 20. Ghost Stories Sketch 1 21. Mr S Meets JSB 22. Three Fountains 23. Dreams Combine Like Shadows 24. Secret Swim at Moonlight 25. The Line 26. Solid Ground

Added: January 20th 2023
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Neil Campbell online
Hits: 602
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by