Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Arc Trio and the John Daversa Big Band: Arceology -The Music of MSM Schmidt

As we step into 2023, I find myself still backtracking through the 2022 releases, and this is another winner. A horn lover’s dream, boundless energy exudes from the 8 tracks. The Arc Trio consists of heavyweights Scott Kinsey (keys), Jimmy Haslip (bass), and Gergo Borlai (drums) with the John Daversa Big Band, this is a winning combination. I really was hooked once track 4 “Qin Shi” hits and features the intense guitar work of Nguyen Le. The sheer power of the big band horn arrangements are complimented with intense guitar was more than enough to win me over after a single listen. All the songs but one ("Quartet" by Scott Kinsey) were composed by Michael Schmidt, and let me tell you, these songs are intense. Tight, intricate horn arrangements are propelled by the powerful drumming of Borlai, these tracks cook. In addition to Le, guitarists Mike Miller, Steve Khan, and Oz Noy all get a chance to shine. If you love horns, clever arrangements and great ensemble playing, look no further.

Track Listing

  1. Red and Gold
  2. Swing
  3. Quartet
  4. Qin Shi
  5. Si Kitu
  6. Mirrors
  7. Clark Kent
  8. Falling

Added: January 11th 2023
Reviewer: Eric Porter
Related Link: More Information
Hits: 294
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by