Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Vanderwolf: 12 Little Killers

Just who is Max Vanderwolf? I asked that question myself when I received his latest album 12 Little Killers in the mail. The album was released this past summer and have just now cracked into this one.

New York City born Vanderwolf is a man of many talents, concert producer and promoter, lead singer (ex-Last Man Standing), and coordinator of the Meltdown Festival in London’s Royal Festival Hall which has seen the likes of Massive Attack, Patti Smith, David Bowie, and many more. Currently he resides in Los Angeles and does much of his work out of London. On 12 Little Killers Vanderwolf explores a number of genres through the album’s twelve tracks.

The album opening “I Am Not A Mountain” is a gentle folk song with fabulous acoustic guitar and Vanderwolf’s warm lead vocals. This one had me instantly hooked, a great way to begin the disc. Stabs of bluesy guitar and percolating organ give “Ain’t Gonna Hurt” a psychedelic undertone and in “Somethin 4 Nuthin” I hear a little Dylan, circa his mid ‘60s rock period. “Stand By Your Fool” is a catchy slice of psychedelic balladry with a touch of country while “If This Is Love” features biting guitar work, more in line with something The Velvet Underground might have conceived. A love letter to New York, “NYC” is a super catchy mid tempo rocker with a whole lot of earthiness and is followed by “The Existential Terrier”, another slice of ‘70s flavoured rock with a darker undercurrent, particularly prevalent in the ominous guitar work.

There is some nice variety here, making 12 Little Killers something of an eclectic yet highly enjoyable rock album, slightly out of left field but with enough melodies to make your head explode. Take that as a complement!

Track Listing:
1. I Am Not A Mountain
2. Ain’t Gonna Hurt
3. Somethin 4 Nuthin
4. Stand By Your Fool
5. If This Is Love (Please Make It Stop)
6. NYC
7. The Existential Terrier
8. Walking Away
9. Glisten
10. Aftermath
11. Headway
12. Somebody’s Love Song

Added: January 6th 2023
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 749
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by