Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Enmity: Demagoguery

Enmity is a new Death/ Thrash Metal outfit featuring members from around the world. Consisting of French, Indonesian, Palestinian and Greek talent. There are also some familiar names associated with this project. Extreme metal drumming legend George Kollias, famously from Nile, is helming the drums. Demagoguery also features guest appearances from his Nile partner Karl Sanders as well as Max Otero from Mercyless.

The approach is a no frills thrashy Death Metal that is aiming directly for the old-school feel and vibe. The riffing and arrangements are familiar and perhaps a little generic at times, yet also very enjoyable and fun with some definite standout moments. For example the end of “The Enemy Below” which is particularly epic and powerful sounding. The cool stuttering grooves in the next track “Preventable Genocide” are also cool. We get some lead guitar work from Karl Sanders and Max Otero handling some vocals on “The Enemy Below” which is fine. And there are several other guests spread across Demagoguery. George Kollias once again delivers a punishing and engaging drum performance with plenty of his trademark dynamics and skill on display.

Demagoguery leaves me with mixed feelings. While on the one hand the material is strong and engaging, it does also feel as though this is a one-off project. Like I’m not sure I want to invest myself in something that is definitely quality but perhaps is only fleeting when there is so much music out there. This is likely unfair on my behalf and hopefully I’m wrong because it would be cool to see Enmity grow and I’m definitely interested to see that progression. For now though I would definitely say Demagoguery is worthy of your attention but I would also say that they haven’t given us something that will set the world on fire either. A good debut with the potential for greatness if they continue.

Steeve ''ZUUL' Petit -Vocals
David Decobert- Guitars
Mohammed Kutkut- Bass
Michael Perwira- Guitars
George Kollias -Drums

Sound Engineer: Jean Francois Dagenais
Designer: Prisma Setia Kusuma

Guest musicians:
Dede Aldrian (lead guitar "The bullet that kills you")
Karl Sanders (lead guitar "The enemy below")
Max Otero (vocals "The enemy below")
David Roustany (vocals "Preventable Genocide")
Demian Logan (vocals "Resistance")

Track Listing
1. My Enemy 04:32
2. The Bullet that kills you 04:45
3. The Enemy below 05:54
4. Preventable Genocide 04:56
5. Flying Fortress 05:33
6. Resistance 04:32
7. Demagoguery 07:41

Added: January 5th 2023
Reviewer: Benjamin Dudai
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 682
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by