Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ravenstine, Allen: Shore Leave

Getting back to the weird world of ex-Pere Ubu synthesist Allen Ravenstine, here is the second of four EPs released under The Tyranny of Fiction moniker, titled Shore Leave. Shore Leave is different than Electron Music, maybe a little more minimalistic and sparce, but no less interesting. The disc begins with the title track, perhaps the most melodic tune of the first two discs, featuring Ravenstine’s somber, yet impactful piano. The piece evolves very slowly, his piano deliberate, and seems to be composed rather than improvised. The next track is “In Search Of Memory” and is much more experimental and obtuse, especially with its use of tuned percussion provided by Giacomo Liguori, really the star of the piece. “Pink Dusk At The Point” is almost like three tracks in one, in just under three minutes. An intro of majestic synths soon morphs into a very strange landscape of what sounds like synthesized wordless voices, very mysterious and otherworldly, before ending with pretty but somber Grand piano, courtesy of Victor Hugo Morales Avilán. Victor’s piano is again the focal point in the lovely “Ninety Miles To The Spanish Harbor”, and last but not least is the album ending “Flèche D’Or (Golden Arrow)”, a true sonic adventure, including manipulated voice samples and a general flair for the avant-garde.

More tuneful than Electron Music, but also a tad more morose, this is not music to distract from other things, you really need to be fully invested to reap its rewards.

Of note - Each of these mini albums also include a short story that may or may not relate to the music. That will be up for interpretation by each listener. Connecting written word to instrumental music is never an easy thing, especially when dealing with the abstract.

Track Listing:
1. Shore Leave (3:32)
2. In Search Of Memory (6:50)
3. Pink Dusk At The Point (2:52)
4. Ninety Miles To The Spanish Harbor (4:19)
5. Flèche D’Or (Golden Arrow) (8:09)

Added: January 1st 2023
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist @ Bandcamp
Hits: 327
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by