Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Flying Fuzz: Redeemer

If you’re worried about the future of heavy metal, Flying Fuzz will bury deep those fears. This band came soaring out of Madison, Wis., while its members were still in high school, playing original music massively influenced by early Judas Priest, early Black Sabbath and early Metallica. Multiple gigs at Milwaukee’s Summerfest (hailed as “the world’s largest music festival") soon followed as Flying Fuzz took off. Since 2019, the band has released a series of EPs, each better than the previous one. And Redeemer -- a 23-minute slab of six smart and searing songs -- is Flying Fuzz’s finest moment yet.

Recorded during a marathon session at Madison’s brilliantly named Blast House Studios, Redeemer finds the four-man band evolving at a rapid pace, similar to the album-by-album progression made by Flying Fuzz’s primary influences. No two tracks sound the same, from the slamming title cut and the rifftastic “Disciple of Doom” to the wannabe Sixties stoner anthem “Our Freedom,” the classic rocker “Devil’s Laughter” and the totally fuzzed-out “Spaced Out ’22.” The album closes with “Peace,” a trippy folk song accented with flute.

Don’t be fooled by the generic songs titles; this is not generic stuff. The members of Flying Fuzz deliver arrangements, lyrics and sheer musicianship that are light-years beyond many of their older brethren -- and it's all done with undeniable passion that you can hear in every note. Benson Wood’s vocals are understated compared to his melodic yet serrated guitar solos, and he’s backed by Cameron Selbig on rhythm guitar and vocals. Bassist Albert Motzel and new drummer Noah Tresner keep things punchy throughout.

Five of the six tracks here were produced by Dustin Sisson to give Redeemer a much more professional sound than many other independently released metal records, and these guys aren’t done yet. Here’s hoping 2023 brings more big things for Flying Fuzz -- like world metal domination.

Track Listing:
1. Redeemer
2. Disciple of Doom
3. Our Freedom
4. Devil’s Laughter
5. Spaced Out ’22
6. Peace

Added: December 29th 2022
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Flying Fuzz on
Hits: 577
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by