Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Blind Guardian: The God Machine

The God Machine is the latest and 12th studio album from German power metal legends Blind Guardian, and comes three years after the controversial Legacy of the Dark Lands, which to many seemed more like a Hansi Kürsch solo album accompanied by orchestra. Here, Hansi is back with the full band, comprised of André Olbrich & Marcus Siepen on guitars, and Frederik Ehmke on drums, plus special guests Barend Courbois on bass, and Thomas Geiger & Joost can den Broek on keyboards.

The band seemed intent on going back to the winning formula of Beyond the Red Mirror, At the Edge of Time, A Twist in the Myth, and Nightfall on Middle Earth here on this latest release, offering up nine new songs that do all that Blind Guardian excel at, which is speedy & epic sounding symphonic power metal driven by blazing guitars, over the top keyboard orchestrations, and Hansi's soaring wail. Kicking off the album with the pulverizing yet majestic 1-2 punch of "Deliver Us From Evil" and "Damnation" was a great job of sequencing, as they both pull the listener right in to the heavy metal mayhem to follow. Things slow down but get even more epic & proggy sounding on the lengthy "Secrets of the American Gods", complete with layers of rich & breathtaking backing vocals, while tracks like "Violent Shadows" and "Architects of Doom" absolutely crush with some terrific riffing and bombastic drums. Fans who love the speed metal tendencies of Blind Guardian will love "Blood of the Elves", and "Destiny" is another gem that dives more into heavy prog territory with some complex arrangements and boatloads of synths to combat the heavy guitar riffs. And check out the Queen can't miss it!

Not a bad song to be found on The God Machine, and the production is really pleasing to the ears as well. Blind Guardian are back making kick ass epic power metal, and the world is a better place for it.

Track Listing
1. "Deliver Us from Evil" 5:22
2. "Damnation" 5:21
3. "Secrets of the American Gods" 7:29
4. "Violent Shadows" 4:18
5. "Life Beyond the Spheres" 6:03
6. "Architects of Doom" 6:21
7. "Let It Be No More" 4:49
8. "Blood of the Elves" 4:38
9. "Destiny" 6:47

Added: December 20th 2022
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 581
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by