Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Alter Bridge: Pawns & Kings

Now on their seventh studio release, US hard rock/metal act Alter Bridge deliver 10 new heavy hitting songs that continue their run of consistency that started with their debut One Day Remains back in 2004. As the follow-up to 2019's Walk the Sky, Pawns & Kings attempts to up the ante on the heaviness factor and hit the highs of what many feel are the bands strongest releases, 2007's Blackbird, and 2013's Fortress. Well, you could argue that Pawns & Kings is the strongest since Fortress, and that's not to take anything away from The Last Hero and Walk the Sky, both of which are very fine albums in their own right, but with tracks like "This is War", "Dead Among the Living", "Silver Tongue",and "Sin After Sin", the first four we here on this new album, it's clear that Alter Bridge are once again hitting some truly high marks. These songs are brimming with a never ending supply of heavy riffage & blazing solos, Myles Kennedy's strong lead vocals, and memorable melodies. "Stay" is the first ballad on the album (sung my Mark Tremonti), and while that has a feel of 'been there, done that' to it, it's still not a bad track. "Fable of the Silent Son" is the 8+ minute epic on the album, and is a wonderful slow builder, atmospheric & textured before becoming a haunting riff fest with some scorching guitar solos. Other highlights include the soaring, uplifting "Season of Promise", the dramatic "Last Man Standing", and the crushing title track, which closes out the album.

Mark Tremonti, Myles Kennedy, Brian Marshall, and Scott Phillips are one of the must hear bands on the planet these days, and it's a real shame that they haven't crossed over into mega-star status as of yet, but with albums like Pawns & Kings their talents are fully on display and just waiting for that chance to break into the mainstream. Heavy stuff here, highly memorable, and ever so enjoyable.

Track Listing
1 This Is War
2 Dead Among the Living
3 Silver Tongue
4 Sin After Sin
5 Stay
6 Holiday
7 Fable of the Silent Son
8 Season of Promise
9 Last Man Standing
10 Pawns & Kings

Added: November 19th 2022
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 575
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by