Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Epidermal Veil: Psalms Of The Flayed (EP)

Coming from the icy winds and frozen landscapes of Reykjavik, Iceland Epidermal Veil are a new young band looking to leave their mark on the Technical Death Metal scene and help bring more quality Icelandic metal to the world. Psalms Of The Flayed is the bands debut and this five song EP aims to make a statement that Epidermal Veil will be a force to be reckoned with from now on.

Psalms Of The Flayed opens with the crushing “Crimson Sky” and it’s immediately clear that these guys mean business. The track is packed with technical riffing, blistering drum explosions and deep menacing growls loaded with passion and anger. This does not let up in the slightest throughout the rest of the EP. “My Wish Your Veil Of Flesh” follows and demonstrates not only their technical abilities but also their brutality credentials. While there are catchy melodies spread throughout, Psalms Of The Flayed is decidedly on the more extreme brutality end of the technical spectrum. “A Darkened Wasteland” sounds equally menacing and punishing with its epic intro and explosive riffing. “Swarm Of Wrath” throws a misdirect with a synth like church organ opening the track before gut punching you back into the brutal extremes of tech death. Some nice catchy riffing again on display as well as touches of dissonance to add some flavor. “Reaper_s Nectar” wraps up the EP with an alien-like somewhat robotic voice musing on the pathetic nature of humanity and until once again and for the last time the band explodes into the unrelenting assault on the senses.

Psalms Of The Flayed certainly does show a new band dripping with potential and skill. The music within is extremely well executed and it’s clear that Epidermal Veil are not only a band to watch but a testament to Icelandic metal. My only criticism is that while the songs are all strong and fun to listen to, I find them also fairly expected and formulaic in the Tech Death mold. There is some lack of originality here, however as i said before the final product is still strong and for fans of technical and Brutal Death Metal in the style of bands like The Black Dahlia Murder, Obscura and Beyond Creation, there is definitely a good listening experience waiting for you on Psalms Of The Flayed.

Epidermal Veil:
Sigurjón Oli. Guitar & Bass
Ingólfur Olafsson. Vocal
Stefán Frioriksson. Drums

1. Crimson Sky
2. My Wish Your Veil Of Flesh
3. A Darkened Wasteland
4. Swarm Of Wrath
5. Reaper_s Nectar

Added: November 12th 2022
Reviewer: Benjamin Dudai
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 238
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by