Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sahg: Born Demon

It’s been six long years since Sahg offered up their Momento Mori, the Norwegian traditional/doom/heavy metallers now suggesting they were Born Demon. Slimmed down to the trio of singer Olav Iversen, who is now also the band’s sole guitarist, Tony Vetaas on bass and Mads Lilletvedt on drums, the loss of guitarist Ole Walaunet, if anything has found this band sounding even more dangerous and ever more dynamic. Always an act to use their doom-tabular base as a springboard into other musical reaches that add much more colour and melody than otherwise might be expected, here the results are difficult to ignore.

The album’s title track is as good a place to explore as any, huge thick, sludgy guitars allowed to be bolstered by near Queen like backing vocals, while Iversen grinds and groans on guitar. However, that approach is moved in completely different directions elsewhere, “Fall Into Fire” a rifftastic romp-along that takes in Sabbath, early Ozzy and maybe some Judas Priest and delivers a huge slab of thundering guitars full of energy and hooks that immediately snag the attention. As you’ll also find on other tracks, the sound is rich, full and clever enough to be welcoming without compromising the band’s attack. Possibly less doom-fixated than they begun their journey being, this really feels like the Sahg sweet spot we’re entering now, “House Of Worship” possessing an utterly irresistible staccato riff that you’ll be convulsing in joy to from the first time you hear it, while “Evil Immortal” is rammed with cascading guitar runs and fantastic work behind the kit from Lilletvedt, who really is excellent throughout. Add in the superb “Heksedans”, which brings a foreboding atmosphere to proceedings, and the traditionally doom inspired “Killer Spirit (From Outta Hell)” and Born Demon becomes a mighty statement. With the vocals from Iversen the perfect counterbalance to all of the forceful music, this band really do have everything they need at their disposal. Rest assured they do not waste it.

Track Listing
1. Fall Into The Fire
2. House Of Worship
3. Born Demon
4. Descendants Of The Devil
5. Black Cross On The Moon
6. Evil Immortal
7. Salvation Damnation
8. Killer Spirit (From Outta Hell)
9. Heksedans
10. Destroyer Of The Earth

Added: November 5th 2022
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Sahg online
Hits: 434
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by