Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Severe Torture: Fisting the Sockets (EP)

Severe Torture are a Brutal Death Metal band hailing from the Netherlands and formed back in 1997. They made an impact on the new wave of Brutal Death Metal that came about in the early 2000’s with their classic debut Feasting On Blood. They would release four more albums ending with 2010’s Slaughtered. This would see the band continue to tour sporadically yet the creative juices were yet to flow until in 2018 their previous drummer left the band amicably and was replaced by Damien Kerpentier. With his inclusion into the line-up the band found a new found enthusiasm and burning desire to create some new punishing Death Metal.

Fisting The Sockets sees Severe Torture sounding in top form. All three tracks on this all too short EP are a no holds barred, straight for the carotid artery with an icepick style of Brutal Death Metal. Yet as all the best bands in that genre manage to do, they find a way to make the songs have a sense of melody inside the pummeling and that is certainly the case here. “Fisting the sockets” the title track opens with clean melodic guitars that seem to set the mood for something else before the heaviness explodes and cracks your skull open leaving your brains pulverized on the concrete floor. From there it doesn’t let up. This isn’t sloppy or dank though. This is all very precise and bordering on technical at times. That being said though the brutality is undeniable. “Entangled In Hate” doesn’t offer any respite and the boot remains pressed against your neck but again the riffing and drumming are expertly handled and the production sounds powerful and heavy and well defined. “Hands And Head Not Found” pretty much tells you what to expect in its title…ruthlessly heavy and imposing and brutally awesome.

I’m very happy to see Severe Torture return in such fine form and I’m also happy to let you know that they are working on a full length follow-up to Fisting The Sockets which is slated for a 2023 release. My only problem with this is that it’s only 3 songs, besides that I have no issues at all with this EP. I enjoyed every oppressive, brutal, bludgeoning they dished out in my direction. Fisting The Sockets is killer Death Metal so if you like it brutal and high quality then don’t sleep on this one.

Recording line-up:
Drums: Damien Kerpentier
Bass: Patrick Boleij
Guitar: Marvin Vriesde
Guitar: Thijs van Laarhoven
Vocals: Dennis Schreurs

1) Fisting The Sockets
2) Entangled In Hate
3) Hands And Head Not Found

Added: October 25th 2022
Reviewer: Benjamin Dudai
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 282
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by