Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Meade, Austin: Abstract Thoughts Of An Unstable Mind

The wonderfully titled Abstract Thoughts Of An Unstable Mind would appear to be the third album from Austin Meade, and judging by the accolades that have come this guy’s way so far, he’s built up quite the following along the way. Now, 19 songs would appear to be a hefty whack of music, but four of these are strange little joining pieces that kind of but not quite make this a concept album - the quartet being little DJ skits set in the fictional radio station of LMAM. To me they add nothing to the experience of this album, merely sucking some of the momentum built up by the songs themselves and on repeat listens they are really quite annoying - although I do like the clever way that the final moments of the album as the station’s day comes to an end lead straight back into the track one’s station opening, but how many people will listen to the album in that manner is open to question?

Anyway, none of that is important if the songs are killer, but to me they never quite are. Now, I appreciate that other opinions are available and that most are very upbeat about this album, but the whole thing for me falls into a clever-cleverness that the current rock scene seems to have a lot of. The tracks all have some great little hooks, or a killer riff here and there, but none of them last and the intention seems more worried about sounding low slung and disinterested than adding a really authentic bite. Once it gets going “Queen Of The Letdown” builds a good groove, but even here there’s a self knowingness that I find keeps me at arm's length.

Truth be told, maybe my own disconnect with this album is an age thing, or maybe even a cultural divide? I find the almost self pitying lyrics to be a real turn off and the dowdiness of even the uptempo tracks really dissatisfying, but I can say the same about the likes of Tyler Bryant & The Shakedown, and like Austin Meade, they have built an impressive reputation that I can’t quite fathom. Check out the album’s singles, and if you like them, then feel free to jump on in, but for me, there’s very little here to get excited about.

Track Listing
1. LMAM Morning Drive

2. Violation Delight

3. Red Roof Estates

4. Sinner of the City

5. Late Night Letdown

6. LMAM Midday Drop

7. Queen of the Letdown

8. Rosé Romance

9. LMAM Exclusive Interview

10. Varsity Type

11. LMAM What’s Your Problem

12. Loser Mentality

13. Take a Trip

14. Dial Tone

15. Abstract Art.jpg

16. Quicksand

17. Darker Shade of Blue

18. Forever Unfaithful

19. Rain Dancin

Added: October 23rd 2022
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Snake Farm Records Store
Hits: 154
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by