Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Moon Coven: Slumber Wood

Let me say this. I have the perfect album to scare the hell out of you when taking a walk in the woods at dusk. As you let the fuzzed-out riffs sink into your core, the eeriness unfolds around you and the vocalist sends chills down your spine. Let me introduce Moon Coven, all the way from Malmõ, Sweden. The band’s self-titled debut was released in 2016 and their latest titled Slumber Wood came out in 2021 on Ripple Music. Apparently, they have another album somewhere in between the two but I have not been able to find any information in that regard. Now, getting back to their latest platter, this is old school metal, formed in the glory days of doom, with a pronounced ‘70s influence, ala Black Sabbath with ventures into psychedelia.

“Further” begins the album with some of the fuzziest riffs you are likely to hear. The catchy, slowly evolving riff progressions are accompanied by distant vocals, which are superb, and give the band’s sound some added eeriness. See ‘forest walk’ reference stated above. “Ceremony” is next, and the band crank out another excellent doom-laden track filled with thunderous, slow plodding riffs and tasty vocals. The tune has this cosmic vibe that is hard to put into words. You will just have to listen for yourself. With “Potbelly Hill” you get a huge fuzz-soaked doomy sound with addictive riff progressions and catchy lead vocals. “Eye Of The Night” is another catchy slice of doom, the guitar and vocals mesh together wonderfully, and on the droning instrumental “A Tower Of Silence” the band delves into spacier territory. The disc ends with “My Melting Mind” which has the band focusing on the all-mighty-riff. The instrumentation is quite beautiful and melodic. This music will enter the core of your being if you let it.

Moon Coven have made a stellar album with Slumber Wood. Highly recommended!

Track Listing:

1. Further (5:09)
2. Ceremony (6:07)
3. Potbelly Hill (6:21)
4. Eye Of The Night (4:02)
5. A Tower Of Silence (2:39)
6. Bahgsu Nag (7:26)
7. Seagull (5:41)
8. My Melting Mind (5:08)

Added: October 10th 2022
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 272
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by