Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Travers, Pat: The Art of Time Travel

The ever-prolific Pat Travers is back with another solo album, this time, it's the aptly titled The Art of Time Travel, which musically sees the guitar legend going back to the muscular bluesy hard rock of his '70s heyday, and with the front and inside photos you have shots from that era as well as today. However, speaking to Pat directly about the title, he stated that it's also as much as how we as humans participate in time travel every day, every week, every year, going from yesterday to today, last week to this week, and so on. As with many of the best Travers albums, there's a nice mix of guitar-heavy numbers, which incorporate hard rock, blues, funk, and pop, along with the occasional ballad. Highlights here are many, including the rousing title track, the somber yet rocking tribute to his fallen friend Ronnie Montrose "Ronnie," the cranking heavy rock jams of "No Worries At All" (which has the makings of a great live song), the bluesy pop of "Over and Over," the great use of funky horns on "Push Yourself," the searing heavy rock of "Move On," and the crisp, groove-laden rocker "Full Spectrum." Another great number is the gorgeous "Natalie" which was written by bass player David Pastorius, nephew of the legend Jaco Pastorius, which not only shows his talents as a bassist & songwriter but also that the genius of that family continues to live on. Sure, the now-cliched concept "Breaking Up in Lockdown" has been done to death over the last 2 years, but seeing as this essentially is another album conceived during the COVID19 pandemic, it's not all surprising.

Throughout The Art of Time Travel, Pat's guitar playing is as thrilling as ever, and though his vocals have taken on a more gravelly tone in later years, he still sounds like the great Pat Travers we've come to love over the last near 50 years. New drummer Alex Petrosky also does a fantastic job, and as mentioned above, Pastorius is superb. This is an album that gets better and better with each listen, and it's easily one I can recommend to any longtime Pat Travers fan.

Track Listing
1) The Art of Time Travel
2) Ronnie
3) No Worries at All
4) Over and Over
5) Push Yourself
6) Move On
7) Full Spectrum
8) Breaking Up in Lockdown
9) I Feel Good
10) Natalie

Added: September 21st 2022
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artists @ Bandcamp
Hits: 786
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by