Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hillage, Steve: The Glastonbury Experience-Live 1979

Space rock guitar legend Steve Hillage made a name for himself in Gong, but it wasn't until his solo career that the true scope of his musical genius really took shape. The Glastonbury Experience, recorded in 1979 at the Glastonbury Festival (Fayre), also featured the likes of Peter Gabriel, Alex Harvey Band, Sky and the Footsbarn Theatre, Mother Gong, Tim Blake, and John Martyn, among others, with a total attendance of 12,000 music fans over the days of June 21-23. Hillage's set is comprised of some of the best of his then young solo career plus a few covers, and all throughout the performance his guitar playing is stellar as always. The band were:

Steve Hillage: Guitar, Vocals
Miquette Giraudy: Synthesiser, Vocals
Andy Anderson: Drums
Paul Francis: Bass
Dave Stewart: Rhythm Guitar, Glissando Guitar, Vocals

The sound of this live album is quite good, probably a soundboard recording, so there's little if any crowd noises to be heard. Highlights are many, but there's the hard rocking duo of "Electrick Gypsies" and "Light in the Sky", the trippy psychedelic space rock of "Unzipping the Zype", his always fun take on "Hurdy Gurdy Man", the raging, punk inspired "1988 Aktivator", the dreamy "Radio", and the blazing guitar rock of "The Glorious Om Riff", complete with some terrific soloing from the leader. Loads of synths bubble and bob throughout the set, and both Anderson & Francis keep everything in check with some rock solid rhythms. Could I have done without a somewhat tepid cover of Jimi Hendrix's "Are You Experienced" in favor of another Hillage original? Certainly, but otherwise, this is a great live document of an important festival appearance from Steve Hillage and his band at the close of the 1970s.

Track Listing
1. Are You Experienced 03:49
2. Electrick Gypsies 04:26
3. Unzipping The Zype 08:06
4. Hurdy Gurdy Man 06:53
5. Light In The Sky 04:31
6. Unidentified (Flying Being) 05:47
7. Radio 09:18
8. Octave Doctors 03:31
9. 1988 Aktivator 02:13
10. Crystal City 03:00
11. The Glorious Om Riff 07:14
12. Talking To The Sun (intro only) 00:46

Added: September 3rd 2022
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artists @ Bandcamp
Hits: 364
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by