Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Graham Bonnet Band: Day Out In Nowhere

Legendary vocalist Graham Bonnet (Rainbow, MSG, Alcatrazz) is back with a new album under the Graham Bonnet Band moniker, just a short while after his split with Alcatrazz, who have decided to carry on without him with Doogie White in the lead vocal slot. Though the split was noted due to 'musical differences', Graham apparently tired of playing 'heavy' music, he comes right back with another GBB album guessed it, heavy music. Alongside the vocalist is long-time bandmates Beth-Ami Heavenstone (bass) and Conrado Pesinato (guitar), as well as keyboardist Alessandro Bertoni and drummer Shane Gaalaas, with some guest appearances by Jeff Loomis (Arch Enemy, Nevermore), John Tempesta (The Cult, White Zombie), Mike Tempesta (Powerman5000), Roy Z (Halford, Bruce Dickinson) and Don Airey (Deep Purple, Rainbow)​.

No real surprises here on Day Out In Nowhere, as it seems whether Graham is churning out a GBB or an Alcatrazz album, the results are very similar, it's high class, high quality hard rock and melodic heavy metal music. Bonnet's trademark wail is all over these memorable hard rock songs, such as "Imposter", "Brave New World" (featuring some nice guitar work from Roy Z), the anthemic "12 Steps to Heaven", complete with some serious shredding from Pesinato, the guitar/organ heavy yet disturbing "Uncle John", the catchy & engaging title track, the Rainbow/Deep Purple influenced "The Sky is Alive", the fun "It's Just a Frickin' Song" (featuring some monster Hammond from Don Airey), and the crushing heavy metal attack of "Jester", complete with some virtuoso playing from Jeff Loomis. What doesn't work though is the orchestral ballad "Suzy", a song where Graham sounds great but the song just doesn't fit here, and the somewhat whimsical rockers "David's Mom" and "When We're Asleep"...none bad by any means, but with "David's Mom" and "Uncle John", I think there's just a tad too much about childhood abuse going on here from a lyrical perspective.

Overall, another fine album of memorable hard rock & metal fare from the Graham Bonnet Band, which makes two really strong releases from both Graham and his former band Alcatrazz in a short span of time. Available now on Frontiers Records.

Track Listing
1. Imposter
2. 12 Steps to Heaven
3. Brave New World ft. Roy Z
4. Uncle John
5. Day out in Nowhere
6. The Sky is Alive
7. David’s Mom
8. When We’re Asleep ft. Mike Tempesta, John Tempesta
9. It’s Just a Frickin’ Song ft. Don Airey
10. Jester ft. Jeff Loomis
11. Suzy

Added: July 31st 2022
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artist Facebook Page
Hits: 163
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by