Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Glacier: Ashes For The Monarch

Glacier is a British progressive rock band which have their beginnings dating back to the late ‘70s. Their debut album Monument was released in 2001 and was followed by Ashes For The Monarch in 2015, the subject of this review.

Ashes For The Monarch is a nice neo-prog album, taking their ques from ‘80s and ‘90s Pendragon and IQ, and others of their ilk, as well as a strong dose of ‘70s Genesis. The playing is inspired, the vocals excellent, and overall, I am very pleased with this effort. The songs were written between 2004 and 2012 and many begin with various effects and sounds as well as voice samples. It all adds a certain amount of atmosphere and introspection, a nice segue way into the song proper.

The disc begins with “Whichone”, a smartly executed slice of neo-prog, featuring a lathering of keyboards, bursting with dramatic flair and some pretty scintillating lead guitar. “Hell And High Water” is next, a nice mixture of softer keyboards and more intense playing, all very melodic with tight musicianship and fine lead vocals. The chilled-out keyboards and guitar solo heighten the band’s moody nature.

The two longest tracks, “Projections (Parts I-III)”and the near twenty-three minute epic “One Man Alone (Parts I - XI)” are definite highlights. The former features a smooth atmospheric guitar, majestic keyboards and tasty lead vocals while the latter segues through various change ups and themes, utilizing a wealth of melodic keyboards. The mood is optimistic and overall, very catchy.

Ashes For The Monarch is a very impressive second album for the band and as such is very much recommended by yours truly. Stay tuned to these pages for their latest effort Island In The Sky, an album I am vastly looking forward to.

Track Listing:
1. Whichone (4:35)
2. Hell And High Water (5:56)
3. Projections (Parts I - III) (8:14)
4. Garden Of Evil (7:03)
5. Lightwing (2:49)
6. One Man Alone (Parts I - XI) (22:47)
7. The Isle Of Glass (Outro) (3:43)

Added: July 25th 2022
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 157
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by