Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ambigram: Ambigram

This is another new find for me, a very nice surprise to be sure. The band is Ambigram, hailing from Italy and have been around for a few years now but only just recently having released their self-titled debut album. Also of interest is the involvement of Greg Lake who helped produce the first track. Speaking of which, “A Mediterranean Tale” is a superb tune, classy progressive rock with a nuanced approach. It begins with slowly evolved guitar and Rapaccioli’s superb vocals. The acoustic guitar is nicely refined as are the use of piano and keyboards. It is both catchy and intricate, including some fine change ups where the band display their progressive tendencies. With “Cerberus Reise”, the mellow percussion and keyboard intro is followed by a biting guitar riff and dramatic vocals as he really hits all the right notes. The guitar solo is also top notch, very tasty indeed. On “Pig Tree” a heavy rock and roll guitar riff and lead vocals with a hint of Geddy Lee are matched with excellent organ work and a wild instrumental guitar break. Some fine change ups throughout highlights the band’s prog rock cred. “Sailing Home” is highlighted by outstanding male and female vocals and crisp rhythms with the bass and drums standing out. I love how the band incorporate slower changeups, adding to their dynamic sound. I really dig the slowly winding guitar solo in this one and again, the vocal arrangement is simply stunning. I even here a little “Great Gig In The Sky”, so for Floyd fans this will be a real treat. “Imaginary Daughter” is another introspective rock song, with more intelligent change ups and shifting moods and features another nice lead from Lombardo.

Ambigram is certainly a band I will be watching for in the near future as this debut platter is of very high quality. Highly, highly recommended.

A Maracash Records release.

The band:
Francesco Rapaccioli (vocals)
Gigi Cavalli Cocchi (drums)
Beppe Lombardo (guitars)
Max Marchini (bass)
Max Repetti (piano and keyboards)
Annie Barbazza (vocals)
Marco Rancati (vocals)
Special guests:
Paolo Tofani (guitar solo on tracks 6 and 7)
Paola Folli (vocals on track 4)
Camillo Mozzoni (oboe on tracks 2 and 7)

Track Listing:
1. A Mediterranean Tale
2. Cerberus Reise
3. Pig Tree
4. Sailing Home
5. Imaginary Daughter
6. L’Absinthe
7. Patchwork
8. Pearls Before Swine
9. Cerberus Reise (radio city)

Added: July 19th 2022
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 402
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by