Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Liimatainen, Jani: My Father's Son

From Finnish artist Jani Liimatainen comes an atmospheric, progressive, heavy and unique outing that sounds different and superior to other debuts or albums in the genre. What Jani has managed to do is bring together a “greatest hits of sound” to blend together an album full of different sounds and moods that will please fans of music and the respective genre alike. You have the heavy-drive and riff tracks such as “Breathing Divinity” or “Into the Fray” and slower tracks like “Haunted House” and “Music Box” to the more obscure and unique tracks such as “Could Stop Now” which blends in a Ritchie Blackmore type renaissance riff and then manages to expands their experimentation and sound further with “Side by Side” which features a saxophone solo. Yes, you read that right, a sax solo on a heavy-power metal album. Had it not been for what seems to be carefully crafted and constructed songs, it would not have worked or fit, but it does. The album features superb musicians who are obviously no amateurs of the craft. Pounding heavy drums, chunky and atmospheric guitars, great mix of acoustic guitars, piano that all complement the incredible vocal performances on the album. The only hiccup the album suffers is pacing, sometimes it feels the slower songs are inserted in places that lose the flow and pace of the album for the listener, but it is not enough to overtake the album. Overall this is a solid and strong album and is a strong start for Jani Liimatainen as a solo endeavor.

Jani Liimatainen - Guitars, keyboards, programming
Jonas Kuhlberg - Bass
Rolf Pilve - Drums
Jarkko Lahti - Piano
Jens Johansson - Guest keyboard solo
Janne Huttunen - Guest saxophone solo


  1. Breathing Divinity (Vocals: Björn “Speed” Strid)
  2. All Dreams Are Born To Die (Vocals: Tony Kakko)
  3. What Do You Want (Vocals: Renan Zonta)
  4. Who Are We (Vocals: Timo Kotipelto)
  5. Side By Side (Vocals: Pekka Heino)
  6. The Music Box (Vocals: Renan Zonta)
  7. Into The Fray (Vocals: Timo Kotipelto)
  8. I Could Stop Now (Vocals: Anette Olzon)
  9. Haunted House (Vocals: Jani Liimatainen)
  10. My Father's Son (Vocals: Antti Railio)
Total length- 58:21

Added: May 28th 2022
Reviewer: Ben Collins
Related Link: Artist Facebook Page
Hits: 1273
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by