Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mass Sky Raid: Calm in Chaos

Australian alt/prog rockers Mass Sky Raid bring us their sophomore studio album Calm in Chaos. Considered a progressive rock band in their native Gold Coast, with appearances in Progfest to support that description, this album sounds more to me like a heavy & catchy alternative rock work. The current lineup is Adam Lomas (Vocals), Alex Kewley (Guitar), Nic Ross (Drums) and Joshua Whitney (Bass).

Their sound reminds me a little of a proggier version of Fall Out Boy, at least the vocal style, but definitely more talented. This is a well-produced album with a huge sound on both guitars and drums, cool arrangements, and a lot of potential for radio airplay. The first four tracks are good with the opener “Arrows” being already released as a single and some highlights are the rhythmic section on “Wake Me Out of Flight (my fav of that first group) and the catchy guitar arrangements on “Breaktrhough”. The song “Fire” is the classic sing-a-long modern alternative ballad that does not do much for me, but I guess will satisfy a ton of fans and listeners.

“Miracle” lifts things again sounding more like a toned Foo Fighters anthem, and I should say again that this guy Baines (assuming he is the one playing here) is really good, his playing adds that progressive metal flavor to the song. I’m pretty sure this song has also been released as a single. “Immortal Way” has very cool guitar arrangements like kind of keyboard sounding, and the Dobinson-Baines execution is flawless, although I think the bass is a little low on the mix. Cool song even though the album seems to be entering a more commercial route at this point, and the first released single “Not Alone” is proof of it. This band has a very rounded sound with very few separations between roles, sometimes the drums, sometimes guitars and sometimes the vocals, but very balanced overall. The very welcomed and somehow refreshing “Letting Go” follows and brings the first acoustic guitars and some strings (or at least some strings-sounding) arrangements, unfortunately is also the shortest song on the album. “Undertow” closes the album with perhaps the heaviest riffs yet and cool electronic nuances but without adding anything new to the experience.

I’ve streamed their previous work (studio debut & EP) and see/hear an evident evolution in their music, perhaps because of the new drummer, and I think this is a band that could bring interesting work in the near future and will have them on my radar.

Track Listing
  1. Arrows (4:18)
  2. Wake Me Out of Flight (3:31)
  3. Breakthrough (4:07)
  4. Begin With the End (3:17)
  5. Fire (3:05)
  6. Miracle (3:16)
  7. Immortal Way (3:08)
  8. Not Alone (3:14)
  9. Letting Go (3:02)
  10. Undertow (3:43)

Added: May 24th 2022
Reviewer: Jose Antonio Marmol
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 350
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by