Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tyrannosaurus Nebulous: Tyrant Lizard King

Hailing from the Black Country here in the UK, Tyrannosaurus Nebulous undoubtedly originate from an area rich in rock and metal history and with the band’s Tyrant Lizard King debut, they look set to continue that long line of heritage. As is the way these days, it would be something of a stretch to suggest that this four-piece of Matt Darby (lead vocals, guitar), Paul Darby (guitar), Lee Jenkins (bass) and James Miles (drums, lead & backing vocals) are looking to break any new ground, but if a more laid back take on the well worn blueprints created by the likes of AC/DC and Thin Lizzy - mixed with something a little more commercial hard rock - gets you frothing at the chops, then this is probably going to be for you. And with Matt and James occasionally switching lead vocals between them, there’s a welcome variance as we careen through the eleven (or twelve if we include the obligatory bonus) tracks that make this first foray from the band.

If it’s high energy intensity you’re after, then the snapping, snarling “Underdog” is a good place to start and with a snazzy guitar solo to boot, there’s substance behind the bark and bite. “Auto-Pilot” adds a much more obvious blues-swagger, landing somewhere between Joe Bonamassa and Kris Barras, but again, there’s an authentic strut to what this band have at their disposal that draws you in, even though you can’t quite escape the feel that you’ve heard it all before. From the stomp of “Hate You” to the dirty grit of “Raw Deal” there’s little doubt that this outfit understand their craft, but while the three part “TLK” is equally as assured musically, I have to say that the amount of spoken/acted out parts here, while fun the first time round, do slow things down in a way that maybe only a prog album can survive - and that sure ain’t what’s happening here.

That said, it’s a small complaint on an album that’s undoubtedly a well crafted and created opening to this band’s account. They may have a silly name and an equally daft title for their album, but I think we’ll be hearing much more from this Tyrannosaurus Nebulous in the years to come.

Track Listing
1. Get Some
2. Underdog
3. Lead Foot
4. Hate You
5. Deal With My Evil
6. Raw Deal
7. Auto Pilot
8. Magnetar
9. TLK I: Extinction
10. TLK II: Retaliation
11. TLK III: Redemption
12. Never Gonna Be (Bonus Track)

Added: May 8th 2022
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Tyrannosaurus Nebulous online
Hits: 431
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by