Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Rush: Moving Pictures (40th Anniversary 3CD Deluxe Edition)

We've all heard and cherished Rush's seminal 1981 classic Moving Pictures and likely bought it in many formats and different reissues since it first came out. Well, as we've seen with the recent deluxe reissues of Permanent Waves, Hemispheres, 2112, and A Farewell to Kings, all Rush fans have gotten used to buying these classics ONCE AGAIN, due to all the glorious extra goodies included on the various available sets. This particular one is the more stripped-down 3CD set, which contains the remastered Moving Pictures, plus the entire 'Live in YYZ 1981' concert from the Maple Leaf Gardens in Montreal, Quebec Canada. Pretty much a 'holy grail' concert for Rush fanatics; this live set now basically becomes the 'ultimate live Rush album', as it easily beats out the great but faulty Exit...Stage Left both in sound quality, amount of songs, and variety of songs.

From the early days, you get sections of "2112", there are sections of Cygnus X-1", a medley containing some of "By-Tor and the Snow Dog", "Working Man", "In the End" and more, plus Rush songs of the time such as "Spirit of Radio", "Red Barchetta", "Limelight", "Xanadu", "Tom Sawyer", "Vital Signs", "The Camera Eye" (all of Moving Pictures actually, save "Witch Hunt"), "The Trees", and more. And, "Natural Science"!! Audio quality is quite good, and next to the legendary All the Worlds a Stage, which is the best live Rush from the very early days, this now becomes the live album as the band transitions into the middle '80s and another era of new sounds.

The packaging is similar to all the previous 40th Anniversary editions, with alternate cover artwork, photos, and a nice booklet housed within a somewhat flimsy digipack, which can easily get ripped when trying to take out the 3CD's as there's no plastic trays included here. It's really the only thing bad you can say about a collection like this...the ultimate 'new' live Rush album and the original Moving Pictures album sounding better than ever. Mandatory!

Track Listing
CD 1
MOVING PICTURES / Original Album �" Produced by Rush and Terry Brown / 2015 remaster on CD for the first time
1. Tom Sawyer
2. Red Barchetta
3. YYZ
4. Limelight
5. The Camera Eye
6. Witch Hunt
7. Vital Signs

CD 2
LIVE IN YYZ 1981 / previously unreleased
1. 2112 �" Overture
2. 2112 �" The Temples Of Syrinx
3. Freewill
4. Limelight
5. Cygnus X-1 Book II: Hemispheres �" Prelude
6. Beneath, Between & Behind
7. The Camera Eye
8. YYZ
9. Broon’s Bane
10. The Trees
11. Xanadu

CD 3
LIVE IN YYZ 1981 / previously unreleased
1. The Spirit Of Radio
2. Red Barchetta
3. Closer To The Heart
4. Tom Sawyer
5. Vital Signs
6. Natural Science
7. Working Man / Cygnus X-1 Book II: Hemispheres �" Armageddon: The Battle Of Heart And Mind / By-Tor & The Snow Dog / In The End / In The Mood / 2112 �" Grand Finale
8. La Villa Strangiato

Added: May 5th 2022
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 651
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by