Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

FM: Thirteen

Yes folks their thirteenth album, and it’s no surprise to see...and hear, that the band has lost nothing in the intervening years since they exploded on the scene back in the mid 80`s. Vocalist Steve Overland seemingly defying the aging process with a voice as powerful as it was back when they first started out, and with the rest of the band being far from slouches themselves. This is a consummate set of Melodic Rock that puts a lot of the new young(ish) pretenders to shame and without, more importantly falling into the trap of blasting out the same tired old clichés.

`Shaking the Tree` has a bluesy feel to it that suits Overland`s vocals perfectly, whereas `Waiting on Love` settles down neatly with its 80`s like groove. For the majority of the album the band does tend to play it safe and I`m not really complaining...honest, as the material is a mixture of prime time Melodic Rock with an emphasis on the melody first and foremost but without losing any of the muscular quality that the songs also display in spades.

Album highlights? There`s plenty, the BonJovi/Springsteen like rush of `Turn this Car Around` with its instantly catchy chorus and similarly `Every Man Needs A Woman’ being cut from the same cloth. `Love and War` is a vehicle to show just what a phenomenal vocalist Overland is and the same can be said for `Be True To Yourself. In reality it’s really difficult to find a track that doesn’t hit my melodic sweet spot; it’s full to the brim...and overflowing with goodness. The album mix allows for each instrument to have its space making for an even better listening experience, and the production is spot on.

A little early to say that this will most definitely feature in many `best of` lists of 2022, but it’s a safe bet to say it’s going to be in mine.

Track Listing
1. Shaking The Tree
2. Waiting On Love
3. Talk Is Cheap
4. Turn This Car Around
5. Love And War
6. Long Road Home
7. Be Lucky
8. Every Man Needs A Woman
9. Just Got Started
10. Fight Fire With Fire
11. Be True To Yourself

Added: May 2nd 2022
Reviewer: Malcolm Smith
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 651
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by