Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dirkschneider, Udo: My Way

Udo Dirkschneider is a legendary German heavy metal vocalist. As a founding member of Accept and U.D.O, he’s earned enough credits over the journey to go out on a limb and do something different and be vulnerable. My Way is the title of his upcoming album, a collection of 17 cover versions, all noted to be highly influential songs to the front man.

I don’t passionately dislike this album, but I do find it to be unnecessary. On one hand, it’s kind of cool to hear Udo Dirkschneider cover classics with a bit of a twist; "Paint it Black" and "We Will Rock You" are examples of this. But on the other hand, the covers of "Man on The Silver Mountain", "T.N.T" and "Hellbent for Leather" are relatively true to the originals and seem uninspired and a touch amateurish. The warbling from Udo on the Rainbow classic is particularly jarring. There are also some quite bizarre moments on this album; I’d quite happily never again hear the front man's take on "They Call It Nut Bush", and Frank Sinatra’s classic "My Way".

The album is a marathon too...17 tracks long. I get that all these songs mean a lot to Dirkschneider so he presumably couldn’t have borne to trim the album back at all, but the result is that you’re likely going to be reaching for the skip button at various times. I feel like this would have been a good idea for a concert set, but it’s an unnecessary studio release in my books.

An album for the diehard fans.

Track Listing:
1. Faith Healer (Alex Harvey)
2. Fire (Crazy World Of Arthur Brown)
3. Sympathy (Uriah Heep)
4. They Call It Nutbush (Tina Turner)
5. Man On The Silver Mountain (Rainbow)
6. Hell Raiser (The Sweet)
7. No Class (Motörhead)
8. Rock And Roll (Led Zeppelin)
9. The Stroke (Billy Squier)
10. Paint It Black (The Rolling Stones)
11. He’s A Woman, She’s A Man (The Scorpions)
12. T.N.T. (AC/DC)
13. Jealousy (Frankie Miller)
14. Hell Bent For Leather (Judas Priest)
15. We Will Rock You (Queen)
16. Kein Zurück (Wolfsheim)
17. My Way (Frank Sinatra)

Added: April 24th 2022
Reviewer: Chris Reid
Related Link: Artist Facebook Page
Hits: 882
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by