Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Blind Stare: Symphony of Delusions

One quick look at the cover at of the debut CD from Finland's Blind Stare easily gives the impression of perhaps progressive or power metal music will be contained within, but in actuality this is excellent melodic death metal, even highly progressive at times. These guys mix death, black, and clean vocals with loads of keyboards, a lethal twin guitar attack, and a furious rhythm section. Fans of Children of Bodom, Mercenary, Dark Tranquility, Arch Enemy, and Dimmu Borgir will find much to like here.

"Central Theory" opens things up in grand fashion, with chugging guitars, sweeping synths, and a myriad of different vocal styles. After the heavy yet melodic "My Black Letter", which has many progressive moments thanks to the intricate keyboard work, the band plows forth with the ominous "Ender", which sees lead singer Eino Tuominen alternating between low register death grunts, growling black metal shrieks, and very melodic and powerful clean vocal passages. If you didn't know any better you would think three different people were singing. The incredibly crunchy guitar work of both Anders Ostrom and Jaakko Lehtinen keep this piece nice and bombastic, as well as on the symphonic "An Insane's Diary Part II", a neo-classical power metal feast with raging rhythms courtesy of drummer Timo Palokankare and bassist Kalle Lahti, and intense orchestral keyboards from Zacharias Aarnio. "The Silent Song" is anything but "silent" as the band kicks up this anthem with beefy guitars, throbbing keyboards, dual leads, a catchy chorus, as well as blood curdling death growls.

Pure maniacal death metal is at its furious best on "All For the Unspoken", featuring some killer heavy riffs, while "Shotgun Symphony" falls heavily in the progressive metal camp thanks to some intricate guitar work, superhuman riffs, manic drum work, and symphonic keyboards. Eino elicits some scary black metal vocals on this one, but they work very well with the furious and symphonic musical accompaniment. After the catchy and churning melodic death metal of "Words of Truth", the band finishes out the CD with the classical inspired "Thornhearts", a driving number highlighted by some tasty keyboard work from Aarnio, crunchy guitar chords, and an effective mix of death and clean vocals.

Symphony of Delusions was a real nice surprise, and I see some big things happening for this band. They certainly have the musical talent, and the songwriting seems to be pretty solid, plus I like the way Tuominen mixes his vocal attack so effortlessly and often during each song. There's a new player on the melodic progressive death metal scene folks, and their name is Blind Stare. Check 'em out!

Track Listing
1) Central Theory
2) My Black Letter
3) Ender
4) An Insane's Diary Part II
5) The Silent Song
6) All For the Unspoken
7) Shotgun Symphony
8) Words of Truth
9) Thornhearts

Added: May 13th 2005
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 4394
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by