Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Fragile: Beyond

Fragile have been a Yes tribute band for a number of years, and in 2020 the German based band decided to try their hand at recording all original music, releasing Fragments, and they are back a year later with the follow-up, titled Beyond. The line-up consists of:

Claire Hamill / lead vocals
Oliver Day / guitars
Russ Wilson / drums & percussion
Max Hunt / keyboards, bass, guitars, percussion, vocals

Hamill might be known to some, as she's been around the scene for quite some time, and has even collaborated with Steve Howe & Jon Anderson in the past. Here, her dreamy, airy vocals float over the top of symphonic prog arrangements highlighted by some truly spectacular guitar work from Oliver Day. The opening 21-minute title track allows the guitarist to paint lots of electric & acoustic tapestries, and there's no doubt he's highly influenced by Howe, which gives this epic track, and the whole album to be fair, a strong Yes flavor. Hunt handles bass & keyboards, and he's quite good on both, though I would like to hear his bass a little more upfront in the mix. His keyboard contributions are often quite good, though I don't always like some of his choices of sound, he definitely has the chops. As for the drums, Wilson is also quite adept, and does a fine job. "Yours and Mine" follows, and that's more of an atmospheric number, less busy, and reminds more of Renaissance in spots. Final track "The Golden Ring of Time" once again goes back into Yes world, fantastic synths and guitar solos sprinkle about a hauntingly delicious '70s prog arrangement on what might be the strongest song on the album.

If I was to be honest, I'm least impressed with Claire Hamill on Beyond. She a fine singer, but I find her style more in the 'lounge jazz/pop' realm and she tends to sound a little out of place on their otherwise solid progressive rock songs. It's an otherwise minor quibble on what is otherwise a pretty pleasant sounding album from a band who do the whole 'Yes' thing really well.

Track Listing
1. Beyond (21:56) :
- a. Sent Through the Morning
- b. Sharkflight
- c. Dawn
- d. The Other Side
- e. Flight
2. Yours and Mine (14:26) :
- a. Like There's No Tomorrow
- b. Diorama
3. The Golden Ring of Time (14:09)

Added: April 10th 2022
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 590
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by