Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

La Bonte', Rick: Living It Up

Sea Of Tranquility’s own Rick Labonte has released a 2 disc set of solo material titled Living It Up. Straight up tunes with a focus on melody in a classic rock vein. Disc 1 is labeled “Day”, and you are treated to tracks like “Fragile” which sets the rocking tone, while the acoustic guitar and vibe of “Let It Show” reminds me of the Doobie Brothers. The track features a catchy harmony guitar outro at the end which is a nice touch. These songs are filled with tasty guitar breaks, and plenty of hooks to latch onto. Its obvious Rick’s ear is tuned into melody; you’ll find plenty in the vocal lines, and background vocals to compliment the music. “Now and Then” is my favorite track on side 1, while the blistering solo in the closing “The Gallery of Love” is most impressive!

Disc 2 “Night” kicks things off with another heavy rocker “Cabin Fever”, maybe inspired by our Covid Lockdown? The first three tracks of disc 2 are a bit darker and heavier than disc 1. “Night Shift” mixes it up with acoustic guitar and Rick on harmonica, showing off a bluesy influence. A number of different musicians are used throughout, but the album has a cohesive and comfortable feel. “No Way” has a funky feel, some of my favorite guitar breaks on disc 2, and what I find to be Rick’s most expressive vocals on the album. In addition, the CD packaging and booklet are beautifully illustrated, and include the lyrics and all the musicians who appear on each track Music is a reflection of the artist, and what you see of Rick on Sea of Tranquility is what you get on Livin It Up, upbeat, energetic, and fun. The dream of every musician is to write and record their own music, and I tip my cap to Rick who has made his dream a reality.

Track Listing
Disc 1 �" Day

  1. Fragile
  2. Full Speed Ahead
  3. Let it Show
  4. All To Yourself
  5. Living It Up
  6. Since I Met You
  7. Moved On
  8. Now And Then
  9. Time Well Spent
  10. Tell Me Now
  11. You
  12. The Gallery Of Love

Disc 2 �" Night

  1. Cabin Fever
  2. My Opinion
  3. I Believe
  4. Night Shift
  5. It’s A Matter Of Time
  6. Coda
  7. Drama
  8. Jane Doe
  9. No Way
  10. Memory Lane
  11. Colour Blind
  12. Big Brother

Added: April 9th 2022
Reviewer: Eric Porter
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 956
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by