Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Carpe Nota: Carpe Nota

Carpe Nota is an American hard rock/progressive metal band which formed around 2010 and released their self-titled debut in 2012 and followed it up with Not Greater Than You in 2020. The debut album has been made available again for those who missed it the first time around.

The players:
Dan Pluta (Keyboards)
Peter Rubinetti (guitars)
Ken Sundling (bass)
Phil Derenbecher (drums and percussion)

Derenbecher has since left the band with Mark Cubranich taking his place.

There is no doubting Carpe Nota is a talented band. Their hard rock and metal sound is made all the more complex with extended keyboard and guitar solos, odd meters, and numerous changes. Lots of stop-starts and creative riff patterns add to the music’s complex nature. If this was a pure hard rock album the absence of vocals might be a problem but since the band have taken the time to write some thought provoking instrumental passages this isn’t an issue.

The first track “Thoracic Park” opens with what sounds like Mellotron choirs, leading sweeping orchestral elements, buzzing synths, and complex instrumental workouts. The keyboard and guitar solos are excellent and the band changes direction often. “Welcome to the Edge” is more in the hard rock vein with lots of heavy guitar riffs, ripping guitar solos, and a solid groove. The spacey synths in the intro to “Obsession” have cool Middle Eastern accents before the song develops with chugging riffs and flashy guitar work, including some tasty acoustic playing. It’s catchy too. “It Can’t Be So” has a much darker vibe with its sobering synth lines and somewhat angular guitar soloing. Eight very good tracks, showing a band with tremendous potential.

Overall, this was a fine debut from Carpe Nota. My curiosity is certainly piqued as I look forward to hearing their sophomore effort. Recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Thoracic Park (10:41)
2. Welcome to the Edge (5:18)
3. Obsession (9:28)
4. It Can’t Be So (9:19)
5. Obsidian (8:39)
6. Batovich (4:45)
7. Bio-Freeze (9:30)
8. For All Time (10:00)

Added: April 4th 2022
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 201
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by