Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Earthless: Night Parade of One Hundred Demons

US psychedelic/stoner rock act Earthless are at it again, their full-length follow-up to 2018's vocal-oriented Black Heaven, titled Night Parade of One Hundred Demons, takes them back to their guitar-slinging, instrumental fury, as this latest for Nuclear Blast sees Isaiah Mitchell (guitars), Mike Eginton (bass), and Mario Rubalcaba (drums) once again delivering some standout heavy psych-jams. And jam these guys do, as this latest contains just three lengthy tracks, the first two being the two-part title track, the first a bluesy, psychedelic trip that then segues into a launching pad for some scalding lead guitar solos from Mitchell, who, I might add, is one hell of a player, before some darker musical themes (krautrock influenced perhaps?), pounding drums, and then more guitar solos finish out this epic title journey. Mind trip music this certainly is! "Death to the Red Sun" closes out the album in doom-laden fashion, as heavy riffs, wah-wah lead guitars, and crushing rhythms signal the arrival of some Black Sabbath-styled smashing. I need to mention again, the lead guitar work on these lengthy jams is positively scorching, and this track is a tour-de-force.

Night Parade of One Hundred Demons is absolutely incredible, a sizzling platter of psychedelic/stoner-tinged improvisations/jams that will leave you breathless. If you are new to the band, much of their back catalog travels similar territory, so go and soak this and all those prior releases up.

Track Listing
1) Night Parade of One Hundred Demons (Part 1)
2) Night Parade of One Hundred Demons (Part 2)
3) Death to the Red Sun

Added: August 16th 2022
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 865
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Earthless: Night Parade of One Hundred Demons
Posted by Eric Porter, SoT Staff Writer on 2022-08-16 10:55:19
My Score:

I’ve often found my favorite place to listen to music is in the car on long drives. Seizing on that opportunity, over the course of my 4+ hour Journey, “Night Parade Of One Hundred Demons” was the soundtrack of that day. I played this disc almost the whole ride home which allowed for multiple repeat listens. All I can say is if you love heavy riffing, amazing lead guitar that screams and wails, then Earthless is your band. 3 Tracks, all clocking in around 20 minutes, this is an all out blast of guitar wizardry from Isaiah Mitchell. I will skip immediately to my favorite track which is the closing “Death To The Red Sun”. Heavy riffing, and intense backing from bassist Mike Eginton and drummer Mario Rubalcaba, this is a monster. I am reminded of Black Sabbath in terms of the propulsive musical foundation that Mitchell gets to play over, and he absolutely goes for the throat. The band must have needed oxygen after cutting this, the sheer fury that is on display is mind blowing. My only critique is that for the two other tracks, where they open with spacey intros that just go a bit too long before getting to the good stuff. I do understand the need for that contrast in the music, because it makes the heavier sections all the more impactful. I can’t say I am all that familiar with the stoner rock/psychedelic bands, but Earthless are so powerful, this will be a band to investigate further.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by