Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Kinks, The: Live Box - The Lost Tapes/Radio Broadcasts

This one is from the underground, so to speak. It’s called Live Box - The Lost Tapes/Radio Broadcasts by The Kinks, an unofficial release in 2020. The box includes three discs, each with a concert performance from 1977, 1988, and 1993, respectively.

The band sounds great in all three recordings. High energy, excellent guitar work from Dave Davies, and vocally, Ray Davies is at the top of his game. Such a consistently great live band and that is certainly exemplified by these three performances.

The first disc is taken from their 1977 Sleepwalker tour, recorded in London at the Rainbow Theatre. The band is in top form beginning with three tracks off the Sleepwalker album: “Juke Box Music”, Sleepwalker”, and “Life On The Road”, and all sounding great. Other highlights include “Well Respected Man”, the stunningly pretty piano and vocal in “Waterloo Sunset” and the gorgeous “Celluloid Heroes”.

The second Disc is taken from their 1988 North American tour, recorded live in Los Angeles. Starting with the infectious “Do It Again”, the hard rocking “Destroyer” and the bluesy rock and roll of “Low Budget”, the concert rocks from the beginning to the end.

The third disc covers their 1993 tour in support of the Phobia album, recorded in Saratoga Springs, New York. Highlights include the intense rockers “Till The End Of The Day” and “All Day And All Of The Night”, the riff heavy “Phobia”, and the catchy “Drift Away”.

The sound quality is quite good throughout the three CDs. My only complaints are the abrupt editing between the tracks as it makes the listen somewhat disjointed. The album notes on the CD tray card also include some spelling mistakes and a mix up with the set listings. Still, for Kinks fans this will be a nice reminder of just how good they were. A stellar band with a bevy of great material at their fingertips. Recommended.

Track Listing:
CD 1 (London, 1977)
1. Juke Box Music
2. Sleepwalker
3. Life On The Road
4. Well Respected Man
5. Death Of A Clown
6. Sunny Afternoon
7. Waterloo Sunset
8. All Day And All Of The Night
9. Slum Kids
10. Celluloid Heroes
11. Get Back In The Line
12. The Hard Way
13. Lola
14. Alcohol
15. Skin And Bone
16. Father Christmas

CD 2 (Los Angeles, 1988)
1. Do It Again
2. Destroyer
3. Low Budget
4. Sleepwalker
5. Come Dancing
6. Art Lover
7. Clichés Of The World (B Movie)
8. Lost And Found
9. Sleazy Town
10. Think Visual
11. Too Much On My Mind
12. Living On A Thin Line
13. Well Respected Man
14. Guilty
15. Lola
16. All Day And All Of The Night
17. Celluloid Heroes

CD 3 (Saratoga Springs, 1993)
1. Till The End Of The Day
2. Destroyer
3. Low Budget
4. Phobia
5. Wall Of Fire
6. Drift Away
7. Ape Man
8. Only A Dream
9. Celluloid Heroes
10. Come Dancing
11. Still Searching
12. Sleazy Town
13. All Day And All Of The Night
14. Days I Remember
15. You Really Got Me

Added: March 20th 2022
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 290
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by