Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Book Of Wyrms: Occult New Age

Richmond, Virginia based hard/psychedelic rock band Book Of Wyrms released their latest album titled Occult New Age in May of 2021, the follow up to their 2019 release Remythologizer, which I enjoyed immensely. I have to say this latest effort is at least just as good.

The band is heavily influenced by ‘70s heavy psychedelic rock, Black Sabbath and Hawkwind come to mind as well as more recent bands like Soundgarden and Purson. The riffs contain large doses of metallic sludge, and the progressions are as catchy as they are creative. The laid-back female lead vocals are set back in the mix, giving the music a sort of mystic witchiness that adds another dimension to the band’s sound. The first track “Meteoric Dagger”, has the band channeling their inner mysticism and where the riffs are thick and doomy. Some tasty solo guitar and neat rhythmic changeups make this one a real treat for the ears. “Colossal Yield” is a hard driving rock tune with a great groove and cool use of synths, adding to the band’s own form of spaciness. This one is a real ripper and would be a great highway driving tune. With the short “Albrionlilly”, a pretty acoustic guitar is the highlight and is followed by “Hollergoblin”, containing huge, rumbling, distortion filled riffs and cool doomy progressions. The bass sound is so trippy with its distorted effect and the synths add plenty of colour to this fast paced juggernaut. Probably my favourite tune on the disc. Other fine tracks include the mellow and heavy atmospheric doom of “Keinehora” and the chugging bluesy hard rock featured in “Speedball Sorcery”.

Occult New Age is a tremendous, hard rock, doom/psych album, making Book Of Wyrms far from one dimensional with lots of variation. Easily recommended.

The players:
Chris DeHaven (drums, percussion)
Sarah Moore Lindsey (vocals, synthesizer)
Jay “Jake” Lindsey (bass, synthesizer)
Kyle Lewis (guitar)
LJ Rafalko (organ on “Speedball Sorcerer”)

Track Listing:
1. Meteoric Dagger
2. Colossal Yield
3. Albrionlilly
4. Hollergoblin
5. Keinehora
6. Speedball Sorcerer
7. Weatherworker
8. Dracula Practice

Added: March 20th 2022
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 665
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by