Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Moon Mistress, The: Silent Voice Inside

Russian doom metal band The Moon Mistress formed around 2009 and released their debut album titled Silent Voice Inside in 2012. A few years later the band changed their name to Dekonstruktor and have subsequently released a few albums, their latest in 2020, but I have not had the pleasure of hearing.

Okay, back to Silent Voice Inside which has been re-released on the Addicted Label with two bonus tracks. What will hit you immediately are the massive guitar riffs, as deep and doomy as you will ever hear. This is a pure all and out doom fest, very heavy distortion and fuzz, sometimes having an almost machine-like feel. The distant vocals are also superb, matched perfectly with what the band does musically, only adding to the band’s creepy and unsettling atmosphere. The huge sludge of “Cremation Meditation” is a heavy and powerful trip into darkness with some pretty cool rhythmic change-ups as the song progresses. Creepy drones and a huge burst of mechanical-like fuzz gives “The Wicker Man” a palpable intensity. The song begins at a snail’s pace, letting the guitar have maximum impact. Eventually, the soundscape gets weirder and more chaotic, making this music anything but one dimensional. An intro of feedback followed by a galloping guitar riff and monotone yet compelling lead vocals highlights the catchy “Cease To Exist” and in the near twelve minute “Invocation To Hecate”, the huge slabs of slowly burning guitar will surely nestle into your brain. The vocals, sounding far off in another place, serve to heighten the band’s spooky intent. I like how the band extends a few of these tunes, creating a dystopian-like wasteland with just guitars, bass, and drums.

There is a reason why this album has been given a new lease on life. It’s damn good and comes highly recommended to doom music fans everywhere.

The band:
Garish (guitars and vocals)
Memphis (bass)
Mitya DHS (drums)

Track Listing:
1. Gate One (1:02)
2. Cremation Meditation (4:00)
3. The Wicker man (10:29)
4. Cease To Exist (7:00)
5. Invocation To Hecate (11:42)
6. Gate Two (0:37)
7. Samsara (5:30)
8. Silent Voice Inside (16:36)
9. The Moon Mistress (6:17)
Bonus Tracks
10. Heavy Sun (4:53)
11. Mindlock (3:09)

Added: March 13th 2022
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 554
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by