Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

TYR: A Night at the Nordic House (with The Symphony Orchestra of the Faroe Islands)

TYR are a Faroese Folk Metal band. They’ve written and released eight albums since 2002 and have forged a notable career. A Night at the Nordic House captures the band performing an epic 18 track set list accompanied by the Symphony Orchestra of the Faroe Islands. It’s a fitting way to celebrate 20 years since the release of their debut album How Far to Asgaard.

It’s sadly impossible for me to review a live metal album with a symphony orchestra without referencing Metallica’s S&M. Whilst TYR aren’t a household name like Metallica were in 1999, I find that this album has a lot of the same qualities; the performance and recording is strong and the arrangements for the orchestra are well suited to the tracks; enhancing their arrangements without being overly elaborate or distracting. Unlike mid-era Metallica TYR play a really epic style of metal, so you could argue that their music is better suited to the collaboration with an orchestra than Fuel or Devil’s Dance.

Overall, I find this release to be a fun and enjoyable listen as a review-stream, however there is no doubt that the DVD version that is due for release via Metal Blade on March 18 will be the best way to take in the epic performance. As an audio release I’d suggest this is best suited to diehard fans & collectors, but I could imagine that most fans of epic metal will enjoy the spectacle on DVD.

Track Listing
1 Hel’s Prelude
2 Gates of Hel
3 Grindavísan
4 Sunset Shore
5 Ragnars Kvæði
6 Gavotte from Suite in G Minor by J.S.Bach
7 Blood of Heroes
8 Ramund Hin Unge
9 Hold the Heathen Hammer High
10 The Lay of Thrym
11 Tróndur í Gøtu
12 Mare of My Night
13 Turið Torkilsdóttir
14 Fire and Flame
15 Torkils Døtur
16 Ormurin Langi
17 By the Sword in My Hand
18 Álvur Kongur

Added: March 10th 2022
Reviewer: Chris Reid
Related Link: More Information
Hits: 546
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by