Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pörsti, Kimmo: Past and Present

The Samurai of Prog has been a mainstay in my CD player for years now, consistently putting out great albums. They are absolutely a marvel of consistency and have been a constant in my best of the year lists, over and over again. It seems whatever this band touches turns to gold and the same can be said for the numerous solo efforts and side projects from its core members of Marco Bernard, Steve Unruh and Kimmo Pörsti. This time I hold in my hand the latest solo album from Kimmo Pörsti titled Past and Present, released in 2021.

First, an explanation of the album title. Kimmo decided to take a few songs from the past and give them a refresher, sometimes creating a completely new track. There are four such tracks including the superb title tune, originally appearing on Jan-Olaf Strandberg’s Made In Finland album. The bass intro and jazzy touches including some nice sax work reminding me of something Chicago may have done in the ‘70s, are album highlights. The softer and beautifully elegant “At Lombardy Convent”, is another nugget from the past with gorgeous flute and piano melodies until the band changes it up with an increased tempo, crisp organ and bass, and gurgling synths. “Dance of the Mistress” has some Tull inspired flute and more wonderful synthesizer. This is another older tune.

The present part of the title refers to six brand new tracks including the harder edged prog of “Darker Places”, the tasty band interplay in the short instrumental “Second Arrival”, and the awesome prog rock workout that defines “Nucleo Antirapina”, with all the players in top form. A fine ending to the album.

Past and Present is another outstanding effort from the TSOP musician. Pörsti should be very proud of this release.

It would be remiss of me not to mention the artwork of Ed Unitsky. His work is truly inspiring and brings me back to when album art truly mattered.

A Seacrest Oy release.

This time around the musicians include:
Kimmo Pörsti (drums, keyboards, acoustic guitars, doumbek, assorted percussion, electric bass)
Rafael Pacha (electric guitars, acoustic 12-string guitars, sequencer, keyboards, recorders, low whistle, tin whistle, bass)
Cathy Anderson (cello)
Christine Chesebrough (violin)
David Myers (keyboards, nylon guitar)
Kari Riihimaki (electric guitars)
Sara Traficante (flute)
Carlos Espejo (lead and background vocals)
Hanna Pörsti (flute)
Paula Pörsti (background vocals)
Jari Riitala (electric guitars, keyboards, bass)
Marco Bernard (Shuker bass)
Ton Scherpenzeel (synthesizers, keyboards, organ)
Jan-Olaf Strandberg (bass)
Dan Schamber (lead vocals)
Marek Arnold (alto and tenor saxophone)
Marc Papeghin (trumpet)
Bo Hallgren (keyboards, synthesizers)
Thomas Berglund (electric guitars)
Petteri Hirvanen (electric guitars)
Otso Pakarinen (synthesizers)
Kimmo Tapanainen (keyboards)

Track Listing:
1. Awakening (2:10)
2. At Lombardy Convent (8:40)
3. Changewinds (5:40)
4. Fused (5:04)
5. Sorrow and Recovery (6:26)
6. Dance of the Mistress (5:05)
7. Darker Places (5:47)
8. Kati (5:21)
9. Second Arrival (1:52)
10. Past and Present (6:10)
11. Nucleo Antirapina (4:35)

Added: March 7th 2022
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 572
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by