Sea Of Tranquility



The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu




Smalltape: The Hungry Heart

With so many phenomenal (and otherwise) albums released every month, it feels like I’m constantly playing catch up these days, hearing some new music that’s already months old in fear of missing out on some of the really good stuff out there. After doing our end of 2021 best of show over on In The Prog Seat on the SoT YT channel, there were numerous albums that began to crop up in the comments that our viewers rated highly that I’d simply never heard. So how embarrassed was I that not just was the latest album from the much ‘comment’-mentioned Smalltape - The Hungry Heart - in my ginormous reviews pile, but also this one man band’s previous outing, The Ocean, which saw the light of day in 2017.

The man behind these albums is Germany’s Philipp Nespital, a multi-instrumentalist and singer not afraid to bring a whole host of collaborators in to realise his visions. The Hungry Heart is his project’s third album (Circles began the journey back in 2011) and even if the influence sphere that brought this double disc - but 63 minute long - set into being aren’t shied away from, the growth from The Ocean to here is really quite marked. Don’t get me wrong, the second offering from the modern progressive outfit is interesting and impressive in its own right, but here Nespital has upped the ante quite considerably. For me, the obvious inspirations come from the school of Wilson and Soord, but with the work of both Steven and Bruce playing a large part in my own music collection, neither of those aspects prove anything other than a bonus. Cleverly though, while a chord structure here might remind of The Pineapple Thief, or an atmosphere there could take you to Porcupine Tree territory, the additions of a live string section of cello, violin and viola, or the occasional interjections courtesy of vibraphone, sax, trumpet and french horn, instantly moves things into a much more individual setting.

The choice to split the album into two discs for just over an hour’s worth of music might seem a little self indulgent, but after living with both for a period of time I can completely understand why that decision was taken. All of the songs on disc one have a flow and musical narrative that makes this an interesting album in its own right, and had the 41 minutes it provides been all that’s offered up here, I genuinely would still be telling you that it’s excellent. The drama of “Hunger” draws you in, but even more so when it’s preceded by the involving “The Golden Siren” and then followed by the acoustic guitar and emotion of “Our Desert”. Nespital owns the perfect voice for all these styles, his easy, natural delivery on the more restrained moments adding real atmosphere, while he can also anger it up, or simply bring a little forcefulness when the tracks demand something more in your face.

Disc two, on the other hand, is a completely different beast, “Where We Belong” a beautiful short piano lament that would have felt jarring had it been placed at the end of the previous CD. The only other song to keep it company is the 21 minute “Dissolution”, which again opens with piano, but we’re in very different territory - pensive vibraphone and keyboards offering a base from where a simply recorded spoken voice takes you into the psyche of someone who gradually begins to hear a sound that takes over his every thought until he realises that it actually emanates from inside his very being… The scene set, the next 18 minutes or so are as darting, unsettling and involved as you may expect and as the musical constructs continue to live up to this challenging premise, so a really good album becomes something much more impressive. Again, as on the previous pieces, different emotions and dynamics are utilised to tell this story, with bright sax and keys playing off and then moving into much darker guitar led passages and complex rhythms, while all the way Nespital’s voice proves completely believable in this new landscape.

So yes, in short, the SoT viewers who all suggested that The Hungry Heart was a 2021 top-10 progressive rock album were 100% correct and had I pulled it from the review pile sooner, it would very much have made that impact with me also. As they say though, better late than never, which definitely applies to Smalltape and their third album.


Track Listing
CD 1 (41:28)

1. The Hungry Heart 

2. The Golden Siren 

3. Hunger

4. Our Desert

5. One Day

6. Burning House 

7. Colors 

8. Asylum 




CD 2 (24:02)

1. Where We Belong

2. Dissolution

Added: March 5th 2022
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Score:
Related Link: Smalltape online
Hits: 774
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]

  

[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]


» Reader Comments:

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by palakkhanna on 2024-03-31 07:31:27
My Score:

Delhi Escorts palakkhanna Offering Top and High quality Escorts Services in Delhi.Here you find Russian Call Girls, Models, Celebrities, Hot housewife Escorts, Teen Call Girls and much more at very cheap rate. So If you are in Delhi and looking Delhi escorts, Visit my website today.
Female Escort in Delhi
Escorts in Delhi
Independent Escorts in Delhi
Escort Service in Delhi
Delhi Escorts Agency
Best Escort Service in Delhi
High-Class Escorts in Delhi
Newly Married Housewife Delhi Escort Service
Ramp Model Celebrity Escorts in Delhi
Cheap Price Escort Service Delhi
Delhi Escorts Agency
Delhi Escorts
Delhi Escort Service
Delhi Escort
Delhi Independent Escorts

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by soniyathakur on 2024-03-30 12:48:39
My Score:

Panjim Escorts Service providing you High class, Models & Sexy Russian Escorts in Panjim, Goa. Book Now to meet Beautiful Independent Panjim Escort Girls anytime 24x7.

independent russian model Panjim Escorts
Russian Panjim Escorts
Russian Panjim Escorts service
Russian Escort in Panjim
Russian Baga Beach Escorts
Russian anjuna Escorts service

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by Oshuniversity on 2024-03-24 09:55:16
My Score:

Osh University is a leading institution in the realm of university health sciences , committed to advancing knowledge and preparing students for impactful careers in healthcare.

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by spa on 2024-03-20 10:26:30
My Score:

Just come to full body spa in hyderabad once and choose the service of your choice and get rid of all your worries, there all hot massage girls are fully talented

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by Annata Evan on 2024-02-20 09:22:34
My Score:

Great review, connections I read it and it's great

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by Bhumika Malhotra on 2024-02-07 07:59:17
My Score:

Enjoying various tourist hotspots and attractions with an elegant tour companion will make your Goa trip more fulfilling. When looking for a sensuous and Independent Goa escorts for companionship or intimacy, hook up with me to get unforgettable adult entertainment. Make all your erotic dreams come true with fetish fulfilment.

Goa Call Girls
Call girls in Panaji
Call girls in Tiswadi
Call Girl in Vagator Beach
Call Girls in Curchorem
Valpoi Call Girls
independent escort in Majorda Beach
Independent Betul Call girls
Call girls in Benaulim
Call Girls in Agonda Beach
Call Girls in Anjuna Beach
escort in Arambol Beach
hot Call Girls in Polem beach
escorts in Sinquerim beach
Call Girls Services in Arossim Beach
Call Girls in Bambolim Beach
Call Girls in Dona Paula
escorts in Candolim Beach
Call Girls in Cavelossim Beach
Call Girls in Butterfly Beach
Call Girls in Baga beach
Cansaulim Beach Call Girls services
Call Girls in Margao
Bogmalo Beach Call Girls
Call Girls in Morjim Beach
Call Girls services in Querim Beach
Call Girls in Galgibaga Beach

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by spasweety on 2024-01-31 08:55:12
My Score:

Past its actual advantages, knead treatment additionally significantly affects mental prosperity. The calming dash of a back rub specialist can decrease tension, wretchedness, and even side effects of PTSD. As the body unwinds, so would the care, nuru massage near me prompting a feeling of quiet and internal harmony. Many individuals find that normal back rubs assist them with overseeing pressure all the more successfully and improve their general personal satisfaction

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by b2b spa on 2024-01-27 12:07:43
My Score:

your body is well-maintained not only through yoga, but as well through massages which is why we provide massage spa in chennai that you prefer with an fascinating hot massage girls so come and have a blast with our masseurs

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by b2b spa near me on 2024-01-25 09:43:56
My Score:

In our busy lives, it is necessary to relax and unwind from all the daily stress. There are a variety of ways in which we can do this such as going for a holiday or spending time with friends and family. One of the most popular methods of relaxation is female to male spa near me

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by shellasharma on 2024-01-17 12:48:55
My Score:

If you want to be happy for a while in gin. take some more body to body massage centres near me and relax and be happy.

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by sutra massage on 2023-12-29 08:17:44
My Score:

One best massage center as they serve good b2b massage in bangalore so what are you waiting for so let's have some more fun.

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by spasweety on 2023-12-26 05:56:32
My Score:

we are running massage center in mumbai we welcome them from anywhere in india your happiness is very important to us nuru massage in hyderabad we have girls who speak all languages so don't worry .. try massage and after that you will visit us again and again because our art experts In that way they will be able to stimulate the emotions

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by b2b massage near me on 2023-12-25 07:25:46
My Score:

Our massage therapist will start by female to male body massage at home your back, neck, and shoulders. They will then move on to your arms, legs, and feet. you can always ask the massage therapist to adjust it.

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by body massage near me on 2023-12-25 07:25:21
My Score:

Throughout the massage, the therapist will check in with you to make sure you are comfortable and that the pressure is appropriate. https://www.bellaspa.in/

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by nuru massage in chennai on 2023-12-21 07:43:17
My Score:

if you want to spice up your night then don't delay come to b2b massage in chennai, our hot massage girl therapists will keep you entertained throughout the full night

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by bright spa on 2023-12-16 07:25:09
My Score:

b2b spa near me hyderabad center can help to relieve muscle tension, improve circulation, and promote relaxation.

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by female to male massage me on 2023-12-16 07:24:43
My Score:

Massage is a safe and effective form of massage therapy that can provide many benefits for men. visit [url=https://www.brightespa.com/]body to body massage in hyderabad[/url]

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by Ramya Spa on 2023-12-14 11:42:51
My Score:

it's always a good idea to consult with a healthcare professional, especially if you have any medical conditions or concerns. body to body massage in bangalore is the best way to relaxing your body and mind.

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by erotic massage in chennai on 2023-12-13 11:01:07
My Score:

massage is essential for your body and not just through the yoga or exercise, so body to body massage in chennai are giving you a real service with your choice of hot massage girl therapist, our therapists are certified and experienced so you enjoy without any problem

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by meena 123 on 2023-12-04 07:55:17
My Score:

From selecting the right gel to preparing your body, we'll guide you through the process, ensuring a seamless and enjoyable experience at body to body spa near me

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by madhurisweety on 2023-11-27 12:25:21
My Score:

b2b spa near me aims to release any tension by manipulating muscles through certain massage techniques. Emotional stress can also begin to produce aches and pains in the body.

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by Navya Singh on 2023-10-20 11:43:27
My Score:

Have you ever wondered what the Instagram "famous" people on your feed are really like? They don't exactly let us see into their private lives, so imagine seeing them being reckless and out of control. With a few clicks of a button, you can get videos and photos from these social media stars that they want to keep hidden from the public. We've compiled all the information here for you to decide if seeing these random naked girls is something that could draw in more followers or if it's just not worth it.
Sexy Pornstar Pic||
Big Ass Pornstar||
Indian Pornstar Name||
Big Lund Pic||
Sonam Bajwa Nude||
Nayanthara Hot||
selena Gomez Nudes||

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by Navya Singh on 2023-10-20 11:40:27
My Score:

We offer Escorts Service in kashmeregate for both men and women. We have a large range of escorts from all over the world including India, so you can find whichever type of escort you're looking for, no matter what kind of preference you have. PunjabiBagh offers both incall and outcall services, meaning that our escorts will come to your location or hotel room (or any other place convenient), or you can visit us instead if you would prefer. our other areas are given below.
Escort Service in Pitampura||
Independent Escorts in punjabiBagh||
Dwarka Escorts||

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by ABC on 2023-10-20 11:36:28
My Score:

Hello Goolge
[url=https://www.google.com/]Hey Google[/url]
Hello Goolge

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by Supriya Garg on 2023-08-24 18:10:45
My Score:

Hello friends, I am Supriya Garg, an amazing Goa escort. I am ready to give you every sexual pleasure and excite you wholeheartedly. If you ask me on a date, I guarantee that I will enrich you with satisfying sexual activities with my huge body. You can expect immense pleasure. My lush body and warm, seductive smile will make your nightly naughty sessions hotter and hotter. My sensual sessions and your dirty thoughts will create a new sexual friendship.

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by Supriya Garg on 2023-08-24 18:09:55
My Score:

Hello friends, I am Supriya Garg, an amazing Goa escort. I am ready to give you every sexual pleasure and excite you wholeheartedly. If you ask me on a date, I guarantee that I will enrich you with satisfying sexual activities with my huge body. You can expect immense pleasure. My lush body and warm, seductive smile will make your nightly naughty sessions hotter and hotter. My sensual sessions and your dirty thoughts will create a new sexual friendship. https://www.supriyagarg.com/

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by DEEPIKA on 2023-06-24 07:44:14
My Score:

However, a stag party is not the only time you can hire an escort girl. There are very few things better than an INDIA girl to enhance a special event.
Night Companions Escorts ||
Ekta Chopra Call Girl ||
Delhi Call Girl Sevice ||

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by komal on 2023-06-24 07:43:06
My Score:

There are many instances where you need the services of INDIAN escorts girls. The one that comes to mind instantly is a stag do. Stag parties are a great way to let your hair down and have some fun before the wedding.
Leaked mms ||
Hot Ullu Actress ||
Best adult group links
Hot instagram Models ||


Antarvasna Sex Story ||
Lesbian sex story ||
Maa ki Chudai ki Kahani ||
Lesbian sex story ||
Bangla Adults ||
Antarvasna Story ||

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by kuldeep ktri on 2023-05-31 08:18:03
My Score:

This is the message plainly the thing I was looking for. Heaps of credits for giving this compelling information with exceptional choice of expressions. Splendid as well as most significant thoughts referenced in your article to the surprise of no one.
Kooku Nude Webseries actress ||
Sexy Pornstar List ||
Best Adult jokes ||
Indian Pornstar Name ||
Famous Red Light Area in Goa ||
100% Working Porn Videos Websites ||
Couple spots in Goa ||
Primeshots webseries Actress ||
Hot Ullu Actress Webseries name ||
Dating apps in India ||
telegram mms videos ||

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by kuldeep ktri on 2023-05-31 08:16:57
My Score:

Exceptionally intriguing web journal. A ton of online journals I see these days don't actually give anything that I'm keen on, yet I'm without a doubt keen on this one. Recently believed that I would post
I have read several just right stuff here.
Escorts Service In Amritsar ||
Noida Call Girls Number ||
Book Call Girls In Amritsar ||
Escorts Photo In Amritsar ||
Sensual Puducherry Escorts ||
Independent Escorts In Puducherry ||
Best Hotel Escorts In Chennai ||
Hot Call Girls In Chennai ||
Housewife escort services in Chennai ||
Hyderabad Escorts Service ||
Book Hyderabad Escort ||
Sexy Call Girls in Hyderabad ||
Female Escorts in Hyderabad ||
Hyderabad Call Girls In Service ||
Premium Escorts Service Provider in Chennai ||
Best Call Girls In Chennai ||
Young call girls book with Luxury Chennai escorts ||
Independent Call Girls in Chennai ||
Erotic Amritsar Call Girl ||
Escorts Service In Hyderabad ||
Hotel Call Girls In Hyderabad ||
Book Sexy Escorts In Hyderabad ||
Gurgaon Escorts Service ||
House Wife Call Girls In Gurgaon ||
High Profile Escorts In Gurgaon ||
High Sexy Escorts In Gurgaon ||
Hot Call Girls In Puducherry ||

Smalltape: The Hungry Heart
Posted by Call Girls in aerocity on 2022-11-25 11:25:38
My Score:


I love your presenting your content like this if anybody wants to show their homework in an attractive manner we are here to help you.
Call Girls in aerocity
Call Girls in dwarka
Call Girls in paharganj
Call Girls in okhla
Call Girls in punjabi-bagh
Call Girls in delhi-vaishali
Call Girls in bhopal
Call Girls in lucknow
Call Girls in gurgaon




2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by SpeedSoft.com