Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Embryonic Autopsy: Prophecies Of The Conjoined

With a strong desire to produce an album that is faithful to the original form of Death Metal from the late 80’s and early 90’s, Embryonic Autopsy have produced an album of raw aggression and guttural power. Prophecies Of The Conjoined is without studio trickery or any extraneous bells and whistles. This is pure unadulterated death metal in its purest and most unapologetic form.

The album bludgeons its way into existence with “Regurgitated and reprocessed” with pulverizing drumming, maniacal riffing and swamp dwelling guttural vocals. What's that you said? You want to hear the lyrics? Your request is denied…here have some grrrr and roarrr instead. The onslaught continues unabated and even though the lyrics are inaudible the subject matter is fun nonetheless. Dealing with the idea that aliens came to teach the ancient Egyptians and Mayans their technology, only later when an alien spacecraft crashed in roswell did humans discover the truth. Taking the DNA from the crashed aliens and splicing it with humans to create hideous hybrid abominations that would eventually turn on their human captors. This of course leads to fun song titles like “Craving Of The Mutated Fetus”, “Cannibalized By Octuplets” and “Cauterized Womb Impalement”. The album remains consistently unrelenting throughout until the final track “Recombination Sequence Complete” which is the only point of respite and after a massacre like the rest of the album it’s a refreshing and peaceful palate cleanser. The run time is a very compact 32mins which I think serves to make this album even more enjoyable, in that it comes in, hacks you to pieces, and gets out. It’s also worth noting that the album also has some great guest appearances such as James Murphy (Death, Obituary, Testament) with a solo on "Cauterized Womb Impalement" and Terrance Hobbs (Suffocation) with a solo on "Regurgitated And Reprocessed" among others.

Prophecies Of The Conjoined certainly doesn’t break the mold or reinvent the wheel but for fans of extreme metal there is plenty to enjoy here. The album is a fun full frontal attack and that's the way pure death metal should be. Harnessing the power of the old classics, but with a modern production sound. A fun gruesome and killer ride.

EMBRYONIC AUTOPSY are vocalist Tim King (Oppressor), guitarist/bassist/keyboardist Scott Roberts (ex-O T E P) as well as drummer Arnaud Krakowka. The band's live line-up features Tim King (vocals), Scott Roberts (guitars), Rob Such (bass) and Jason Meudt (drums).

• James Murphy (Death, Obituary, Testament): Guest solo on "Cauterized Womb Impalement"
• Terrance Hobbs (Suffocation): Guest solo on "Regurgitated And Reprocessed"
• Doc Coyle (God Forbid): Guest solo on "Cannibalized By Octuplets"
• Justin James: Guest solos on "Upon The Mayan Throne"

1. Regurgitated And Reprocessed
2. Cauterized Womb Impalement
3. Prophecies Of The Conjoined
4. Craving Of The Mutated Fetus
5. Upon The Mayan Throne
6. Splicing The Alien Gene
7. Telekinetic Insemination
8. Cannibalized By Octuplets
9. Cauterized Womb Impalement (Genetically Altered)
10. Recombination Sequence Complete

Added: March 5th 2022
Reviewer: Benjamin Dudai
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 332
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by