Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dymytry: Revolt

Dymytry are a band that has been working consistently in the home country of the Czech Republic to build up a solid following there. Having played over a thousand shows in their homeland and having released five studio full length albums, all in their native language, the band now feels ready to expand beyond their borders. Revolt is the first album that Dymytry have made with an alternate English vocal version.

Revolt sees the band continuing to put forward their brand of Euro flavored Nu-Metal, Groove Metal, and Power Metal infusion. All the songs have a clear focus on creating catchy melodies and memorable hooks. I don’t know if my personal bias against the overly happy sounding end of power metal and the tough guy/ scary mask thing of Nu-Metal is clouding my judgment. However even though there are some cool heavy and epic moments like in the song “300” for example with a section that has a great epic heavy riff and cool keyboard part or samples that remind me of something Ex Deo might do, overall everything sounds way too cheesy and pop metal for me. When it gets heavy it’s Nu-Metal heavy and it has a kind of try hard vibe to it. That being said, all the performances are very solid and professional. The production also has a very professional clean sound.

This is one of those personal taste moments because Revolt really is not my cup of tea. However I think that this kind of music does have a big audience throughout much of Europe and any fans of Power Metal with a Nu-Metal edge to it would probably find this album very enjoyable. It’s amazing itself at the mainstream of those genres and fans of mainstream Power and Nu-Metal will probably love it. For fans of the underground however, give this one a wide berth.

Alen „A.L.“ Ljubic (vocals), Jiri „DYMO“ Urban (guitar), Jan „GORGY“ Gorgel (guitar), Artur „R2R“ Mikhaylov (bass), Milos „MILDOR“ Meier (drums)

1. Revolt
2. Stronger
3. 300
4. Never Gonna Die
5. Rise and Shine
6. Awaking The monster
7. Until The World Knows Why
8. Touchdown
9. Tick Tock
10. Hope
11. Somebody’s Watching Me
12. Chernobyl 2.0

Added: March 5th 2022
Reviewer: Benjamin Dudai
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 164
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by